PDA

View Full Version : MySQL being exploited...?

Shinykirby
02-17-2009, 06:20 AM
I'm relatively new to PHP, so you will notice that any code I post below will be extremely sloppy. I've worked primarily with Java so that's what I base most of my syntax and layout on.

Anyway, here is the situation. I'm connecting two server's databases, one has the function of being primarily a webserver (mainly to handle a large amount of traffic), the other as the main server which already has an extreme amount of traffic (a little over 30 queries a second?)

However, that is not the problem. I have linked the servers fine and my PHP script runs fine. What the intention is, the script is basically a ballot count, you put in "votes" (one every 12 hours) for benefits on the main server for the user's account. The accounts are on the main server, with passwords stored in a salted sha512 hash. For efficiency reasons, I didn't want to keep connecting to the main server to authenticate the passwords, so another part of my script is that it does a one-time-retrieval of the information from the main database and it will store the information on the webserver's database. That's also fine (and it runs pretty fast, too, once your account has been logged into the database).

So what they do is, they log into the webserver with the intention of increasing their ballot "vote" by 1 (for records) using their account from the main server. If they've already voted, their account is already stored and it's accessed from the local database, otherwise it's fetched from the main server then stored on the local database. After the webserver records this "ballot vote" (I really was at a loss of words for the system, but it seems to work well), it will close the connection with the webserver, then do a small, final update on the main server for their benefits there.

So basically the script goes like this: