PDA

View Full Version : All Levels Navigational Menu - How to mantain items from one source



mx4
02-16-2009, 03:15 AM
Can anyone direct me to the best way to maintain the menu items/links with one source.
As I see it now I would have to update every page with a revision.
I could have 25 pages to update. :eek:
Thanks in advance.

ddadmin
02-16-2009, 04:17 AM
Warning: Please post DD scripts related questions in the correct forum and include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

To answer your question, the best way would be to use something like SSI (http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/ssi2.shtml) (if your pages end with .shtml), or PHP's readfile() function (http://ca2.php.net/manual/en/function.readfile.php), if your pages are .php etc.

mx4
02-16-2009, 11:01 AM
:)SCRIPT: All Levels Navigational Menu
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm

I want to use only one source or file to manage the menu items.

Currently my site is HTML and JavaScript.

I found that source: Smooth Navigation Menu
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm
has a way to do it.
:confused:I just don't know how to translate it to
All Levels Navigational Menu's scripts
Thanks Admin!

ddadmin
02-17-2009, 01:06 AM
ALM doesn't support the Ajax mode of embedding unfortunately. But again, if your pages are dynamic in any way, including SSI enabled (ie: index.shtml), then moving the contents of this menu to a single external file is extremely simple.

D_E_Manton
02-17-2009, 02:46 AM
Hi,

I'm also interested in using this menu but my site is for a school and so going to be even bigger, over 100 pages. The menu would be good but I need to be able to update it from one central file. I don't know a lot about HTML so if it's not too much trouble would you be able to explain how to do this or point me in the direction of a place where I can find out in plain english?

Dave