PDA

View Full Version : Resolved offsite links Resolved



FredPitt
02-12-2009, 11:12 AM
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex8/newwindow2.htm

Is it possible to change this script in a manner that it opens all links in a new window? So even if they are of my own domain.
Now I am using the "target="_blank" syntax, but W3C does not like "target"
When using this script, W3C does not complain.

Snookerman
02-12-2009, 12:10 PM
Just make sure your site is not mentioned here:

//1)Enter domains to be EXCLUDED from opening in new window:
excludedomains: ["dynamicdrive.com", "google.com"],


Good luck!

codeexploiter
02-12-2009, 12:43 PM
I have changed the assigntarget function and furnished below. Comment the default one and insert this one.



assigntarget: function() {
var rexcludedomains = new RegExp(this.excludedomains.join("|"), "i") var all_links = document.getElementsByTagName("a") if (this.mode == "auto" || (this.mode == "manual" && this.togglebox.checked)) {
for (var i = 0; i <= (all_links.length - 1); i++) {
if (all_links[i].hostname.search(rexcludedomains) == -1 && all_links[i].href.indexOf("http:") != -1)
if (ddwindowlinks.linktarget === '_blank') {
all_links[i].removeAttribute('target');
all_links[i].onclick = function() {
window.open(this.href, "");
return false;
};
}
}
} else {
for (var i = 0; i <= (all_links.length - 1); i++) all_links[i].target = ""
}
if (this.mode == "manual" && this.persist) this.setCookie("dlinktarget", (this.togglebox.checked) ? "yes": "no", 30) //remember user setting for 30 days (set to -1 then reload page to erase cookie)
}


At the moment I haven't used any of the parameters that can be used while opening a new window. You can use them based on your requirement.

Hope this helps.

FredPitt
02-12-2009, 12:44 PM
You are right, but I did not mention my domain there.
But your answer made me understand what was wrong:
The link (to a page of my domain) referred directly to it`s place on the host.
In that case it opens in the same window.
Now I changed it to it`s complete internet address and it opens in a new window. Problem solved, thanks!

Snookerman
02-12-2009, 12:48 PM
You're welcome, glad to help!
You can go to your first post in this thread, click http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/images/buttons/edit.gif then click Go Advanced and add the Resolved prefix to the thread title.
This will let other users know the problem has been solved.

Good luck with your site!