PDA

View Full Version : Does not work Ajax Tabs Content Script on Internet Explorer v8



web3tel02
02-09-2009, 03:21 PM
The Ajax Tabs Content Script (v 2.2) http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/
does not work on Microsoft Internet Explorer version 8.
It opens content on all Internet explorer and not inside a DIV

The link works fine on
<li><a href="#" rel="#default">Tab 1</a></li>
but does not work on
<li><a href="http://www.mysite.com/dir/external.htm" rel="countrycontainer">DHTML</a></li>

Please lets try to fix it!
I will wait for some your answer.

jscheuer1
02-09-2009, 04:10 PM
Remember, IE 8 is still a beta. Try forcing compatibility mode with this meta tag in the head of your document:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7">

Place it just before the title tag. If using XHTML (not recommended) use the self close version required in that DTD:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7" />

Also, many AJAX scripts will not work in IE 7+, unless they are live, locally they often give errors.

web3tel02
02-09-2009, 05:32 PM
The Microsoft have already done Internet Explorer version 8,
so I am trying to get work the Ajax Tabs Content Script v2.2 on it.

jscheuer1, unfortunately the "<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7" />" does not fix this script problem.


Remember, IE 8 is still a beta. Try forcing compatibility mode with this meta tag in the head of your document:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7">

Place it just before the title tag. If using XHTML (not recommended) use the self close version required in that DTD:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7" />

Also, many AJAX scripts will not work in IE 7+, unless they are live, locally they often give errors.

jscheuer1
02-09-2009, 06:00 PM
Go to:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/internet-explorer/download-ie.aspx

The official IE page on microsoft.com - IE 7 is still featured as 'new':


Take a few minutes to learn more about what's new with Internet Explorer 7. This tour will help you discover the changes to Internet Explorer and help you find your favorite features.

In fact, the title of the page is:


Get Internet Explorer 7

IE 8 is available, but nothing is said about it's being an official relase:


Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2. See it now, use it now

It does appear that MS is really pushing 8 though. It also looks like that, aside from the beta 2 version, that an official version is available (two big linked images for downloading IE 8), but that is unclear, it may also be beta 2, or even beta 1. What does it say in your IE 8 when you click:

Help > About

?

Also, the download page:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/results.aspx?pocId=6&freetext=internet%20explorer&DisplayLang=en

Has only release candidates for version 8.

Anyways, I'm not personally supporting IE 8 in much detail at this time, this has nothing to do with official Dynamic Drive Policy, which may or may not differ from my own. When IE 8 rolls out via Automatic Update, or if there is a definitive announcement from MS, then I'll be more interested, unless they want to hire me as a beta tester.

Have you tried your page live? Is IE 8 the only browser giving you problems? What other browsers have you tried?

web3tel02
02-09-2009, 06:45 PM
On answering to jscheuer1,
Even script on the site http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/ is not working on Microsoft Internet Explorer 8 RC1.

It works fine on Opera and Mozilla Firefox.
You can find Microsoft Internet Explorer 8 RC1 on site http://www.microsoft.com/windows/internet-explorer/beta/default.aspx?ocid=ie8_s_94735d11-65d1-4bb8-bf6f-72d7b059a928

jscheuer1
02-09-2009, 08:36 PM
RC means Release Candidate. In case you don't know, a candidate is something or someone not yet selected or official for the purpose intended.

Now, I'm not surprised that the demo page on Dynamic Drive doesn't work in IE 8 RC1, no attempt has been made for it to. I am a little surprised that compatibility mode doesn't fix it though. That's precisely what compatibility mode is for. If it doesn't work, while clearly the script works in IE 7, then compatibility mode is broken in IE 8, or you have applied it incorrectly.

If you want more help:

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

ddadmin
02-09-2009, 08:53 PM
Actually, I have IE8 RC1 installed, and all the demos on the default DD script page (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/) works for me. Are you sure you're using RC1 of the browser (and not beta1 or beta2)? Also, as John mentioned, maybe a URL to your problem page would help.

jscheuer1
02-10-2009, 03:43 PM
That's right. I had a heck of a time installing IE8 RC1, but have managed to get it on another machine, just as well I guess, don't really want to be messing up my primary with it yet.

Anyways, the Ajax Tabs Content Script (v 2.2) (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/) demo page here on Dynamic Drive runs just fine in it. And that's with compatibility mode off.

Perhaps your page is invalid, or there is some setting in your IE8 that is causing the problem. Double check the demo page on Dynamic Drive to see if it works in your IE8 or not. If not, it is probably some setting in your IE8, OS, and/or third party add ons causing the trouble. Are you using Vista by any chance?

ddadmin
02-10-2009, 06:52 PM
I know what you mean John with not wanting to install IE8 on your primary computer(s). After all, IE7 is still the browser most people use and with which issues occur for them on.

jscheuer1
02-10-2009, 07:12 PM
Well, yes. But I had a plan laid out in a blog I saw to install IE 8, then install tredosoft's IE 7 standalone, then reinstall tredosoft's multiple IE's. I'd link to the blog, but there wasn't any more information on the process than what I've just outlined. They claimed it worked, giving them IE 8, 7, 6, 5.5, and 5.

As a backup, I installed 7 on the old machine (it still had 6 on it) and tredosoft's multiple IE's. That all worked well. When the new machine balked at IE 8, I tried some of the solutions offered but am now down to the 'clean boot' method, which scares me a little. So I figured I'd install 8 on the old machine. That worked well. I like it, now I want it on the newer machine, but only if I can get the situation I described with 8, 7, 6, 5.5 and 5 working. Otherwise, even if I can get 8 on the new machine, I will probably take it off (if I can at that point without a format and reinstalling everything).

Interestingly, tredosoft's multiple IE's on the old machine still work, but of course there is no longer any 7, it was replaced by 8. I may try putting tredosoft's standalone 7 on there, but I'm told that will break the multiple IE's. However, perhaps those can still be reinstalled. I think the preferred method is to first remove them before installing 8.

ddadmin
02-10-2009, 08:49 PM
Another option might be to go the partitioning route. I'm thinking of trying out Windows 7, and hence have been considering doing it. There's a nice CNET TV video (http://cnettv.cnet.com/2001-1_53-50005089.html) on how to easily partition your hard drive. In the video it recommends a free partition software called EaseUS (http://www.download.com/Easeus-Partition-Manager/3000-2248_4-10863346.html?tag=mncol).

web3tel02
02-12-2009, 07:01 AM
I blocked some of Add-Ons in IE8 (like IEPro http://www.ie7pro.com/ etc) and now Ajax Tabs Content Script v2.2 is working well on IE8. Could be that ie7pro mixed-up ajax HttpRequest.
Thanks for all suggestions!