PDA

View Full Version : AnimatedCollapse Dynamic Divs

VB_Gone-Wild
01-26-2009, 08:13 PM
First I wanted to say hello, I just signed up to the forums. Secondly I have been using the animatedcollapse jquery add on from this site for awhile:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/animatedcollapse.htm

This works great for everything so far, but admittedly I am an extream jquery/javascript novice. I use asp and code in C# for the most part.

The problem I have is that I am attempting to use this in a repeater were I dynamicaly create divs for each record being displayed. I dont have a problem with making each div have a unique ID but what I dont quite grasp is how to make jquery work with this. The example given for this has predefined divs named in the head of the document. This obviously will not work for my situation were I have no idea how many divs will be produced. So I was wondering if there was a better way to do this and still be able to use this addon? Is there a way to create my divs dynamicaly and somehow have the jquery addon know what these divs are or even possibly a way to create the javascript inline with each div?

jscheuer1
01-26-2009, 08:36 PM
Well, if you repeater is writing something like so several times, each with a unique id and presumably unique content:

<div id="<% someid[i] %>" style="width: 300px; background: #FFFFCC; display:none">
<b>Content inside DIV!</b><br />
<b>Note: Fade effect enabled. Height programmically defined. DIV hidden using inline CSS.</b><br />
</div>

It could just as easily write something like this:

<script type="text/javascript">
animatedcollapse.addDiv('<% someid[i] %>', 'fade=1,height=80px')
</script>
<div id="<% someid[i] %>" style="width: 300px; background: #FFFFCC; display:none">
<b>Note: Fade effect enabled. Height programmically defined. DIV hidden using inline CSS.</b><br />
</div>

Then after all of that's done, have:

animatedcollapse.init();
</script>

VB_Gone-Wild
01-27-2009, 03:19 PM