PDA

View Full Version : All Levels Menu - Root URL Setting?



dsontag
01-23-2009, 05:24 PM
1) Script Title: All Levels Navigation Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm

3) Describe problem: My question is related to our company intranet, so I cannot post a link to show the problem.

I've set up my main menu items with the ones that have sublists linking to only # (current page). The problem is in IE, the link in the first item appends itself to the current page I'm on.

In FF, the links in the sublist work just fine:
first item in sublist under Main Menu is linked to /thislink/ and when I click on the first link, I go to http://site/thislink/.

In IE, the first link in the sublist always appends itself to the current page it's sitting on:
first item in sublist under Main Menu is linked to /thislink/. if I'm currently on http://site/thatlink/ page, the link is changed to http://site/thatlink/thislink/ instead of linking as it should be in FF (above).
if I put in a hard link (http://site/thislink/), it changes the link to http://site/site/thislink/.

I'm at a loss how to fix this at the moment - does anyone have any ideas?

ddadmin
01-23-2009, 06:56 PM
The way relative links are handled should just be a browser specific behavior (nothing to do with the script). The script doesn't do anything with the links in the drop down menus other than show it. However, you say even if you specify an absolute URL inside one of the menu link, ie: http://site/thislink/ it changes the link to http://site/site/thislink/ in IE? That's unusual.

dsontag
01-25-2009, 01:03 AM
I know it is really bizare! What I ended up doing for now was added an additional "first" item which is 0px high and display none. All links seem to be fine now. I'll revisit this again when I've got some time. Thanks anyways ...