PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic Ajax Content



bombusidea
01-10-2009, 05:48 AM
1) Script Title: Dynamic Ajax Content

2) Script URL (on DD): http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm

3) Describe problem: my web site http://thehivecomplex.zxq.net/ really needs this script or something similar in order for my soul to rest in peace. On Firefox it runs great, but on IE it shows the content out of the box that is created. When you click the link fragrances and candles...

I have been looking at it for months now trying to figure it out and I am running out of time to get this site going.

Please help me

ps- it may take a couple of times to load the site because of other issues and I am consistently changing the web pages and adding things to it.

jscheuer1
01-10-2009, 03:12 PM
Change (in your index_1.css file):


#contentarea {
height: 430px;
width: 100%;

overflow: auto;
}



to:


#contentarea {
height: 430px;
width: auto;
overflow: auto;
}

or perhaps even to:


#contentarea {
height: 430px;
overflow: auto;
}

The default width of a division is 100% (actually - all the way across until it hits something), but specifying 100% in IE can often cause wrapping. It shouldn't, its a quirk of IE, hopefully to be corrected in version 8.

bombusidea
01-10-2009, 11:13 PM
thanks for the reply John,

I have changed the css and it does the same ignoring of content box. I try to thing out of the box, but I never thought my work would show it so much :)

is there anything else someone could suggest? What else could be the problem John?

jscheuer1
01-10-2009, 11:54 PM
Sorry, worked fine in IE 7 developer toolbar. I just made a local copy of the page though, it didn't work there.

I'd start over, remove all styles, looks bad but works fine, no huge gap. Add the styles back one at a time until you find the culprit.

bombusidea
01-12-2009, 07:57 AM
Dear John, (lol)

I figured it out...I changed the position to relative for the content box...

thanks for the help