PDA

View Full Version : Smooth Menu and Safari

Michael Mazzeo
01-06-2009, 03:31 AM
1) Script Title:Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.01)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem: Firstly, I am not a web designer. I built my site in Dreamweaver.
The link is <http://www.michaelmazzeo.com/Current_Exhibition.html>
After having issues with a spry menu, I found DD's Smooth Menu. The menu works beautifully, except of course, in Safari, for which it is not optimized. The submenus are disconnected, and do not function properly, but if I reload the page or if I link to a page from another page within my site, the menu magically seems to work properly. So my question is, is there a workaround for Safari or is there a script that I can implement to automatically reload a page if the user's browser is Safari?
Please excuse my lack of html and javascript knowledge.
Thank you!

ddadmin
01-06-2009, 09:12 AM
The menu was tested in Safari 3.x for Windows with no issues. Are you using a Mac? Unfortunately I don't have access to one, so can't debug for that OS.

jscheuer1
01-06-2009, 11:39 AM
Well, actually the page at the URL given does have a problem with Safari 3 Win. I was looking at it earlier. I just didn't know how to advise you because the page needs a complete overhaul. It's heavy reliance upon absolute positioning is a poor design, and indirectly related to the problem in Safari. The styles are very spread out and confused, as is the order of tags in the head. So much so that the page is invalid. There are other issues along these lines. Also the slide show is of a poor design and should be replaced with:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

or some other better thought out javascript or Flash.