PDA

View Full Version : jQuery Multi Level CSS Menu #2 + flash overlap



JEFF12345
12-31-2008, 02:26 AM
1) Script Title: jQuery Multi Level CSS Menu #2 + flash overlap bug

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/item/jquery_multi_level_css_menu_2/

3) Describe problem: Using the jQuery Multi Level CSS Menu #2, in IE 7 or less on a PC --
when the submenus drop down, they are BEHIND my flash swf file, which is in the middle of the html page.

They work perfectly fine on all browsers on my MAC.

Is there a fix or hack to get the sub menus in front of my flash file for the IE + pc

see: http://www.trinitytoolrentals.com

BTW, I hacked the code to allow the use of an image as the start if anyone is interested --I am referring to "conventional tools" and "thru-tubing tools"

any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!

jscheuer1
12-31-2008, 05:32 AM
I don't see any Flash on your page, perhaps you've changed that. If so, that may be the best solution. However, if you want to resolve issues of HTML element 'stacking' visa vis Flash, this may be helpful:


Add in this language to your object/embed tag -

Add the following parameter to the OBJECT tag:


<param name="wmode" value="transparent">

Add the following attribute to the EMBED tag:


wmode="transparent"

Or, if you are using two object tags, as can and is sometimes done, add the param tag to both of them.

If you are using script to generate the tags (as is frequently done to avoid the 'click to activate' feature in some browsers), the wmode transparent must be passed to the script. This is easily accomplished but, varies depending upon the sort of script one uses. Some scripts do it automatically.

JEFF12345
12-31-2008, 01:41 PM
thanks for the info -- I will try that in just a little bit.

Being the newbie, I got nervous and did in fact remove the flash after posting this thread. (doh!)

thanks for taking to respond even though I must seem like a dummy right about now!

:o

JEFF12345
12-31-2008, 02:48 PM
jscheuer1
You are a genius. Problem solved.

See the following

http://www.trinitytoolrentals.com

thanks a million!

manik
02-05-2009, 08:08 PM
JEFF12345 or jscheuer1,
I had the same issue but I have my flash movie embedded as an iframe below the menu but still with the same issues. Would either one of you be able to point me in the right direction which is needing the parameter for the fix, or if I'm not even in the right ballpark?

I'm a complete novice designer-just getting the ropes of it, any help would be grateful.

http://www.sdsskateboards.com/main.htm

thanks

jscheuer1
02-06-2009, 03:55 AM
Manik, next time start a new thread for a new question. It appears as though you can add the wmode transparent to your Flash like so (on your sds.cat.09/index.html - addition highlighted):


<div id="flashcontent">SimpleViewer requires Macromedia Flash. <a href="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer/">Get Macromedia Flash.</a> If you have Flash installed, <a href="index.html?detectflash=false">click to view gallery</a></div>
<script type="text/javascript">
var fo = new FlashObject("viewer.swf", "viewer", "100%", "100%", "8", "#181818");
fo.addParam("scale", "noscale");
fo.addParam("wmode", "transparent");
fo.write("flashcontent");
</script>


However, you will still have an iframe. This may or may not pose additional issues. At a glance, it looks as though it will not, but one never knows. I can tell you that (on main.htm):


<iframe src="sds.cat.09/index.html" frameborder="0" param name="wmode" value="transparent" scrolling="auto" width="780" height="505" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" title="SDS Catalog 2009"> Catalog 2009 </iframe>


The highlighted is meaningless, get rid of it. These only apply to Flash objects, not to iframe tags.

Make these changes, and let me know how it works out.

manik
02-06-2009, 06:31 PM
That worked perfect John,
Thanks for all the help and bearing with my my "non" cascading style sheets and coding.

Much appreciated!
Manik