PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Links on submenu don't work



maximumovertime
12-28-2008, 09:37 AM
1) Script Title: All Levels Navigational Menu (v2.0)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/

3) Describe problem: I have inserted a link url in the Side Drop Down Menu 2
of my page on one of the submenus.
When you click on the link called: Leisure, the link does not re-direct the page to the url in the link.

To find the link that I am talking about; there are two menus on my page.
The first menu is accessed by a button called: Products on this page.
The second menu is accessed by a button called: Products on this site.

The button that you want to click on is: 'Products on this site'
This will expand a sub level. On this level; click on the title: 'Lifestyle'
This will open another sub level.
The link that I am talking about on this level is called: 'Leisure'

The code in the sublevel menu is:

<li><a href="#"><font color="#0066FF">Lifestyle</font></a>
<ul>
<li><a href="#"><font color="#0066FF">Career</font></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><font color="#0066FF">Health</font></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.lotstoshopforcash.com/Products/Lifestyle/Leisure.htm"><font color="#0066FF">Liesure</font></a></li>

</ul>


Also note that when you when you hover the mouse over the button and the expanded levels before the <li> with the link; you will see the url address appear in the status bar of the browser window:
http://www.lotstoshopforcash.com/Products/Lifestyle/Test page.htm#

When you hover the mouse over the <li>with the link, the # symbol disappears after the url address in the status bar and the url address of the link shows:
http://www.lotstoshopforcash.com/Products/Lifestyle/Leisure.htm

The site url where I have the problem is:
http://www.lotstoshopforcash.com/Products/Lifestyle/Test%20page.htm

If you look at the source code, the menu and submenu codes are at the bottom of the page.

I will also attach a copy of the ddlevelsmenu.js file.

If anyone can help at all, that would be great,
Thank you.

jscheuer1
12-28-2008, 11:21 AM
This menu is supposed to expand onmouseover. You've edited the code to do so onclick. I's probably due to this that you are having a problem. Upgrade to the current version (see the demo page (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm)) and leave it as an onmouseover expansion menu.

maximumovertime
12-29-2008, 01:52 AM
I have still been trying to find a way to correct this problem and have found that if I right click and open the link in a new tab or window, the link is active and works.
I am wondering if this means that it is still possible somehow to figure out a way of solving this problem through the script or html.

I have tried a command in the html code:

<li><a href="the link address" onclick="false">Link text</a><li>

and

<li><a href="the link address" onclick="true">Link text</a><li>

but neither of these seem to make any difference.

I am wondering if anyone might know of a different command that might work in the html?

thank you.:confused::(

maximumovertime
12-29-2008, 02:31 AM
I have resolved the problem by editing the following line of code:

<li><a href="http://www.domain name.com"onClick="parent.location='name of document.htm'";>Link text</a></li>
:)

Thanks.