PDA

View Full Version : Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.01)



Marc777
12-15-2008, 07:21 PM
1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.01)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem: First, thank you for the use of that script. I have been able to set it up, works fine with the external file and Ajax...

The problem I have is that I have Flash animations directly under the menu , wich makes the sub-menus appearing BEHIND the Flash animations ( example of the page on wich I'm currently working : http://www.levillagedemusher.com/musher/menu.html ) ... I've tried to put the <div id="smoothcontainer"> in a layer , thinking it might help things go on top, no success ... help ?

( sorry for my english, I'm not bilingual ..)

Snookerman
12-15-2008, 09:02 PM
Try this:

.ddsmoothmenu {
-x-system-font:none;
background:#4776C4 none repeat scroll 0 0;
font-family:Verdana;
font-size:12px;
font-size-adjust:none;
font-stretch:normal;
font-style:normal;
font-variant:normal;
font-weight:bold;
line-height:normal;
width:100%;
z-index:100;
}
The larger the z-index, the further toward you the content appears. If the flash animation has a z-index higher than your menu, it will show on top.

Marc777
12-15-2008, 10:00 PM
Thank a lot for taking the time to answer !
ok.. I've added your code in the ddsmoothmenu.css ... was not better... so I tried to find the z-index for the animation just under, couldn't find it, so I did put it in a layer and added z-index:-1 to the layer, but the sub-menus are still behind...

Maybe I should put that z-index:-1 on the flash anim directly ? how do I do that please if that's the case ?

Snookerman
12-15-2008, 10:03 PM
You could also try the specifying the z index of the submenus themselves if they are in separate containers.

ddadmin
12-15-2008, 10:12 PM
See John's post here: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39511 Or, you can try All Levels Menu (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm) instead, which uses a IFRAME shim technique to overcome this issue within the script itself.

Marc777
12-15-2008, 11:06 PM
Thanks a lot guys, really cool to help me... as mentionned on the another thread, seems the <param name="wmode" value="transparent"> on the flash anim did it, so problem solved !!!
Thank you !