PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Preloader and Explorer



jkaronson
12-03-2008, 10:05 PM
1) Script Title:
Preload Image (with progress bar) Script

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/preloadimage.htm

3) Describe problem:
It works for me in all browsers except Explorer. When I first added the script, it didn't work. I later added images and changed variables and it suddenly worked. Now, after a third update, it doesn't work again. It loads about 90% and then simply stops. To continue, one must click the "skip preloader" link.

Since finding it on DynamicDrive, I've changed the variables, the array of images to be preloaded, the 1x1 gifs. I also added a table to center it on the page.

www.inplainair.com

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

jscheuer1
12-04-2008, 12:33 AM
Looks like a typo. In IE, if any of the images are missing, it will prevent the script from progressing to the next stage. Other browsers are more forgiving. This:


"images/navigation/about/deep-up"

should be (unless you have another image with that filename and a different extension on the server that you would prefer to be preloaded):


"images/navigation/about/deep-up.gif"

There could also be other problems. However, after correcting this in a local version of your preload page, IE no longer hung up.

jkaronson
12-04-2008, 08:20 PM
Thanks so much. I looked through for typos about a hundred times but I guess I overlooked it.