PDA

View Full Version : Smooth Navigational Menu: Problem - Cannot have 2 side arows under one listing



acreativellc
11-27-2008, 06:00 AM
1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

* There is a problem when having two sub-aarow listings under the same main listing.
* The problem leads to several visual defects:
(a) grey shadow box does not appear in 2nd listing, OR (b) grey shadow box appears far off-right (seems to depend on randomness)
* This seems to affect subsequent main menu listings that have side sub-arrows.
* For example of the problem, see: http://acreativellc.com/newsite/nav.php
- Take a look at main menu tab "Web Design" -> And then 2nd sub-menu aarow "Programming"
* It works fine with one sub-menu arrow, as seen on http://acreativellc.com/newsite/navA/nav.php
* This is true in both IE7, and in Firefox 3.0.4

* NOTE: When I compare this to another script, "All Levels Navigational Menu (v1.5)" at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm , this other script does NOT have this same problem. This other script works fine, you can see two sub-menu arrows under the main tab "CSS".

Any upgrades, or solutions to this problem, are much appreciated! Thanks!

- Brian, A Creative LLC

rcolyn
12-10-2008, 04:49 AM
Anyone found a solution to this problem, as I'm having the same problem :confused:

ddadmin
12-10-2008, 06:36 AM
Bug confirmed. I'll have to take a stab at it when I have time, probably within the next couple of weeks.

rcolyn
12-10-2008, 01:11 PM
Temp fix ... if you turn the shadow off (false) in ddsmoothmenu.js, it works 100%

Regards
Ralph Colyn

ddadmin
12-10-2008, 08:46 PM
Well of course, turning off the shadow altogether will fix any shadow related issues. :)

ddadmin
12-13-2008, 12:20 AM
Ok, this particular bug should now be fixed: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm (only .js file changed).

rcolyn
12-14-2008, 05:33 AM
Thank you so much for this quick fix !!!

Amazing Job you 're doing

Regards & Thanks
Ralph Colyn

DavidONE
12-21-2008, 01:56 PM
Hi,

I've just been playing with this menu and noticed a problem in IE6.

If I move cursor down on to one of the dropdown elements and then move the cursor quickly back up, part of the shadow remains painted on the screen. See http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/8436/20081221145133cruw5.png

Switching off shadow fixes problem.

Otherwise a really nice menu. Thanks.

ddadmin
12-21-2008, 11:32 PM
Yep I'm aware of this bug in IE6 David. Unfortunately I haven't been able to find a quick fix yet. If I do the menu of course will be updated for it.

DavidONE
12-21-2008, 11:57 PM
OK, thanks. I'll keep an eye out for updates.

Cheers.

jscheuer1
12-29-2008, 08:11 AM
It also appears that when using two of these menus on one page in proximity to each other, that if one is activated right after the other, in IE there is a brief but significant lag time before the one first activated's shadow disappears.

satya
04-22-2009, 05:41 AM
Hi,

I've just been playing with this menu and noticed a problem in IE6.

If I move cursor down on to one of the dropdown elements and then move the cursor quickly back up, part of the shadow remains painted on the screen. See http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/8436/20081221145133cruw5.png

Switching off shadow fixes problem.

Otherwise a really nice menu. Thanks.
Please change this....in js file..

shadow: {enabled:true, offsetx:5, offsety:5}, /// true to made false

shadow: {enabled:false, offsetx:5, offsety:5},


I have faced this problem but got solve....
Thanks

satya
04-22-2009, 05:47 AM
the Submenu coming under the dropdown list box in IE6...please give the solution to fix this...
I am using this menu....
Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.02)

I am using a html form that have some listbox and dropdown box , then the submenu coming the under that form control...

Thanks
Satya

jpbarber
07-16-2009, 08:11 PM
I love these drop downs well done!

I'm having a problem with the shadow not showing over images, so I only see part of the shadow up to the image.
Is any one else seeing this?

dgproduction
08-23-2009, 12:14 PM
fantastic manu, but how i can move button from left to center??? and how add one button on the right , like on pictures...??

http://a.imagehost.org/0163/asd.jpg

ddadmin
08-24-2009, 05:56 AM
dgproduction:
There has been a few threads on this already I believe. The challenge basically with centering this menu is due to its use of CSS float:left to style it. If you can find an alternate way to achieve the same look without it, then centering it should be easy. I don't have any working examples of this for this particular menu unfortunately.

Another menu, All Levels Menu, comes with several different themes (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/generator.htm), some of which support easy alignment (such as Chrome Menu).

dgproduction
08-25-2009, 01:09 PM
ddadmin thanks for answer, but if i delete float:left form css i have this:

http://a.imagehost.org/0297/sss.jpg

:(

This is a my css code:

luisbernas
06-28-2013, 12:21 PM
Hello,

I would like to put this vertical menu in the right side. Would it be possible to open it from right to left?

Thanks for the WONDERFULL job!

Luis.

jscheuer1
06-28-2013, 03:01 PM
If there's not enough room on the right side, it automatically opens on the left.

If you're having problems though, since this is an old thread, and the script and the css for it have both changed, please start a new thread to ask about it and follow the posting rules for a new thread:

See this post (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showpost.php?p=7) for more information on the posting rules for a new thread.