PDA

View Full Version : Using the Select Box as a Genuine Menu II



molendijk
11-14-2008, 04:02 PM
1) CODE TITLE: Using the Select Box as a Genuine Menu II

2) AUTHOR NAME: Arie Molendijk.

3) DESCRIPTION: Alternative version of this (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37694) select box menu. More 'intuitive'; also easier.
Note: the functions used for filling or 'emptying' iframes / objects only work if you have an iframe or a text/html-object on the pages (with the proper names).

4) URL TO CODE: http://molendijk.110mb.com/NavigationWithSelect1/page1.html

jscheuer1
11-14-2008, 06:01 PM
Testing in Opera, the demo page is a little shaky. When you mouseover the menu to activate it, it looks like the down arrow is a separate image that should have been preloaded, then if you mouseover it, the arrow disappears.

molendijk
11-14-2008, 06:38 PM
John, I am using Opera 9.23. No problem here (except for a minor thing). What version are you using?
(Does it only happen on page 8?).
Thanks for the comment.
===
Arie.

jscheuer1
11-14-2008, 07:15 PM
I didn't get to page 8, I was talking about page one. I'm using Opera 9.62. I've just looked again, when I hover directly over the arrow image it disappears (presumably because the mouse is no longer over the element which triggers the image's appearance/disappearance). In FF 3.0.4 it flickers rapidly when the mouse is over it.

About it taking some time to appear at first, once cached, that's not a problem. But many users will be coming to the pages using this for the first time, that's why I suggested a preload.

molendijk
11-15-2008, 12:20 AM
OK, I see. I think I can get rid of the flicker in FF and the slow first time appearance of the arrow. Thanks for the comment.
===
Arie.

molendijk
11-16-2008, 01:54 AM
I corrected the button-flicker.
Ir seems OK now, except that, when you click on the main option, the arrow hides (and only comes back when we mouseover the sub-options). I dont'think it's annoying.
Also added a preload (custom select box image) for Opera, which is a bit shaky anyway, but I don't think that's 'my fault'.
===
Arie.

jscheuer1
11-16-2008, 03:17 AM
I'm not blaming you. If you want your script picked up by DD and/or used by others, it should work in browsers.

molendijk
11-16-2008, 11:38 AM
I think I got it working now with decent results in all modern browsers. If there's still a problem yet, I'd be glad to hear about it from whoever tried it.
===
Arie.

molendijk
11-25-2008, 08:04 PM
I learnt some things, and revised the script, see here (http://molendijk.110mb.com/NavigationWithSelect2/page1.html).
===
Arie.

molendijk
11-26-2008, 11:47 PM
Added some practice material (for constructing customized select boxes) to the pages referred to by the link in the previous post.
The stuff can also be viewed here (http://molendijk.110mb.com/NavigationWithSelect2/preview_select/preview_select.html).
===
Arie.

molendijk
12-04-2008, 12:54 AM
I created a website using the select box technique described above, see this (http://eendracht.110mb.com).
It uses the SmartFrames (http://www.ironspider.ca/frames/smartframes.htm) technique for solving well-known problems related to the use of framesets. I used framesets deliberately, in order to show that the select box technique allows us to have subitems on top of frames.
I added certain functions ensuring that the visitor sees the actual url of the content's pages and allows him/her to print and bookmark the content's pages.
===
Arie.