PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!! Cannot figure out how to add pictures



btns91
11-07-2008, 08:58 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow (v1.51)
2) Script URL (on DD): www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: Got script on my web page but cannot figure out how to actually insert MY pictures into the script. How do I point the scrip to the 5 pictures I want to rotate in the slideshow? Thanks.

DON'T MEAN TO RUSH BUT I NEED TO GET THIS DONE SOON. I CANNOT FIND INSTRUCTIONS ON ADDING THE PICTURES TO THE SCRIPT. THANKS, THANKS, THANKS FOR A SPEEDY SOLUTION.

ddadmin
11-08-2008, 12:20 AM
You'd simply be editing this portion of the script:


var fadeimages=new Array()
//SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed
fadeimages[0]=["photo1.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.cssdrive.com", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax
fadeimages[3]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax
fadeimages[4]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax

Here 5 images are defined.

btns91
11-08-2008, 12:27 AM
Thanks, I did that but nothing showed up. How does this show where the photos are stored with no path to them? I am so confused. Thanks for your quick reply though.

btns91
11-08-2008, 01:52 AM
Are you still there? Not sure of "office hours" I am in a bind, I cannot continue until I can get this resolved. This did not work. Nothing that I see points the script to the photo files that I want to use. All I get is a red X. Thanks

rangana
11-08-2008, 03:43 AM
The first index of the array defines the images:


fadeimages[0]=["photo1.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.cssdrive.com", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax
fadeimages[3]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax
fadeimages[4]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax


....that means that your images is on the same folder as to where you place the script. Please observe diagram:


- ROOT
* web page
* picture1.jpg
* picture2.jpg
* picture3.jpg
* picture4.jpg
* picture5.jpg


When your images, for example, is placed in the images folder that is located inside of the root folder, as to this diagram:


- ROOT
* web page
- IMAGES
* picture1.jpg
* picture2.jpg
* picture3.jpg
* picture4.jpg
* picture5.jpg


...then the script's configuration will be like this:


fadeimages[0]=["images/photo1.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[1]=["images/photo2.jpg", "http://www.cssdrive.com", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages[2]=["images/photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax
fadeimages[3]=["images/photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax
fadeimages[4]=["images/photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax


Hope that makes sense.

btns91
11-09-2008, 03:09 AM
This is my script now but it still gives me a red X with a white background, no pictures. The photos are saved in the images folder in my main web site folder. I am not linking any of the pictures to a URL. I just want the pics to rotate in the banner. Thanks:confused:


var fadeimages=new Array()
//SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed
fadeimages[0]=["images/Bible.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[1]=["images/Worshiper.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[2]=["images/Globe.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[3]=["images/Kids.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[4]=["images/Family.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax

ddadmin
11-09-2008, 04:50 AM
The red x can only mean either the image paths specified inside the script are not correct, or that the images themselves do not exist (ie: images/Bible.jpg from the current directory). Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

btns91
11-17-2008, 11:54 PM
Okay, I still do not have a solution. We have not published the site yet, just trying to get everything ready first.
We set up our site in Front Page and used a preset layout with a cell across the top, one down the side and a main cell in the center.
The top cell has a jpg image that goes all way across the top of the pages. We added a layer cell in a blank space of the banner where we want rotating images to appear. Would I need to split the banner so that there is noting under the layer cell. Not sure about this. I have checked the images and the location of them and all is according to the script. Thanks for all your help.