PDA

View Full Version : Determine language of welcome message using IP address



TheJoshMan
10-26-2008, 02:59 PM
1) Describe Work Request (be as detailed as possible):

Ok, so here's what I'm wanting. I want to use something similar to this: http://www.maxmind.com/app/geolitecountry to determine a user's IP address, then base the language that the welcome message is displayed in on what country that IP originates from.

I understand that IP addressses are not 100% accurate, and some IP addresses could show up as private or blocked. However, in those cases, I would like to have some sort of "fallback" where the welcome message would display in English.

I want to have a list of several welcome messages in each language, then based on the user's IP address, show one of them at random each time the user logs into my site.

My host supports MySQL and PHP, so I'm assuming there shouldn't be a problem as far as server support.


2) Payment methods you support:

Paypal


3) Price i'm willing to pay:

Negotiable



EDIT: Also, forgot to say that I'm in a fair bit of a hurry for this. It's not like any kind of an emergency, but the sooner the better.

Medyman
10-26-2008, 11:35 PM
Does your host have the GeoIP PHP module installed?

TheJoshMan
10-26-2008, 11:39 PM
not that I know of.

I tried to use a database and import a CSV file to the database, however... My host apparently SUCKS when it comes to phpMyAdmin. There is pretty limited access in phpMyAdmin.

Medyman
10-27-2008, 11:11 PM
Hmm, too bad.
You'll need some sort of database to compare against. GeoIP and IP2Location are ones I've worked with in the past. If you had those installed (or can request them to be), I have some PHP 5 classes that'll make this a snap for you. But without those modules, it's worthless.

TheJoshMan
10-27-2008, 11:45 PM
not sure how much good it will do given the level of "service" I've received from them so far, but I have requested one or both of the modules to be installed.

We'll see if they listen

Medyman
11-17-2008, 12:56 PM
Josh, did you have any luck with this?

TheJoshMan
11-17-2008, 06:11 PM
nope, they said that they won't install modules on a "per customer" basis but that they would keep that module in mind for the next "big upgrade"... LOL

Who knows how long that will be. I nixed the idea anyway. I'm focusing more on trying to attract traffic and getting an ad service both cpc/cpm and flat monthly rates up and running. My site isn't quite "popular" enough yet for some of the major players like "buysellads" and so forth, so I'm having to maintain it all manually. (ugghhh)