PDA

View Full Version : Problem with RSSticker not showing on website...



justinmarcus
10-10-2008, 01:23 PM
1) Script Title: rssticker.js

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsstickerajax/index.htm

3) Describe problem: It won't load on my site. I can get it to work on my localhost fine, but live it is just shows "initilizing ticker". I'm assuming my paths are wrong, but I can't seem to get it right.

Why would it work on the localhost, but not on a live site?

thanks

justinmarcus
10-10-2008, 02:15 PM
I put all the files on the root level of the server, hopefully allowing no problems with the path. But now I get an error message for each feed:

Error fetching remote RSS feed!
Sorry: It's not possible to reach RSS file

I don't know why that would be. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Here are the scripts and paths I have set up:

rssticker.js


// -------------------------------------------------------------------
// Advanced RSS Ticker (Ajax invocation) core file
// Author: Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)
// -------------------------------------------------------------------

//Relative URL syntax:
var lastrssbridgeurl="http://www.thecassidyfeed.com/bridge.php"


////////////No need to edit beyond here//////////////


bridge.php


// include lastRSS
include "lastRSS.php"; //path to lastRSS.php on your server from this script ("bridge.php")

// Create lastRSS object
$rss = new lastRSS;
$rss->cache_dir = 'cache'; //path to cache directory on your server from this script. Chmod 777!
$rss->date_format = 'M d, Y g:i:s A'; //date format of RSS item. See PHP date() function for possible input.

ddadmin
10-10-2008, 10:34 PM
Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

justinmarcus
10-10-2008, 10:46 PM
sorry about that, for some reason I thought I did

here it is:

http://www.thecassidyfeed.com/main

Thanks for taking a look!

ddadmin
10-11-2008, 01:28 AM
My guess is your web host has fopen() disabled in PHP, which is required by the RSS parsing portion of this script in order to work. Check to see if:


allow_url_fopen

inside php.ini on your server.