PDA

View Full Version : Problem in IE7 when changing the menu position from left to right



Maher4Ever
09-23-2008, 06:02 PM
1) Script Title: Chrome CSS Drop Down Menu (v2.4)

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/chrome/index.htm

3) Describe problem:

Well first excuse my English ... ^^ I'm not an English man ...

The problem is that My language need to be from RTL "right to left"
But english is LTR "left to right" ...

so I had to change the Javascript of the drop down menu to aappear from
the right of the button ...

and it worked in ALL the browsers except IE :confused:

here is a picture that say it all :

http://www.coolworlds.net/upload/uploads/thumbs/coolworlds-1b936b6601.jpg (http://www.coolworlds.net/upload/uploads/images/coolworlds-1b936b6601.jpg)
click to enlarge

and I have attatched the modified javascript file ...
please... can anyone help me with problem ?

ddadmin
09-24-2008, 09:12 AM
Hmm I'm not aware that changing the text orientation to RTL would break the menu's positioning in IE7. Anyhow, your attached file doesn't show the whole picture. Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

Maher4Ever
09-24-2008, 12:03 PM
Hello ...

First, thanks ddadmin for looking into my problem ...

Second, I had tested this problem in IE6 and it's the same ...

This means that the problem is in all versions of Internet Explorer .

Then, I tested The page in Flock browser. It worked.

Here is the page you requested : http://www.coolworlds.net/menu/index.html

As you will see in the page above ... the button roll-over in CSS is done by <span> tag .. not by <a> tag ...

so the script doesn't keep it selected ... how can I make the button stays selected when someone is pointing on the other links in the menu ?

I'll be waiting for your replay . Thanks

ddadmin
09-24-2008, 12:14 PM
Most of the positioning problems with the drop down menus can be solved by making sure the HTML for the drop down DIVs themselves is outside any container tag on the page other than the BODY. So in your case, try moving all the drop down DIVs to the bottom of your page, just above the "</body>" tag:


<!--1st drop down menu -->
<div id="dropmenu1" class="dropmenudiv">
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/upload.gif" alt="" border="0"/>مركز الرفع</a>
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/glitter.gif" alt="" border="0"/>صانع الجلتر</a>

<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/za5aref.gif" alt="" border="0"/>زخرف أسمك</a>
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/scan.png" alt="" border="0"/>أفحص جهازك</a>
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/ip.gif" alt="" border="0"/>أعرف الـ ip خاصك</a>
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/satellite.gif" alt="" border="0"/>تردد القنوات</a>
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/color.gif" alt="" border="0"/>أكواد الألوان</a>
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/msn.gif" alt="" border="0"/>موسوعة الماسنجر</a>

<a href="#" target="_blank"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/keyboard.png" alt="" border="0"/>الكيبورد العربي</a>
<a href="#"><img class="imgd" src="1/images/tell.gif" alt="" border="0"/>أخبر عنا</a>
</div>
<script type="text/javascript">cssdropdown.startchrome("chromemenu")</script>

</body>

Maher4Ever
09-24-2008, 01:12 PM
Hello ...

Well I tried moving the <div> to just above </body> ...

but still the same problem ...

and I did this changes in the previous page so you can see it ...

Thanks for your fast replay

Maher4Ever
09-25-2008, 01:10 AM
Please can you help me ddadmin ?

ddadmin
09-25-2008, 06:43 AM
Hmm unfortunately playing around with your code I don't see a quick fix then. The problem certainly lies in the way you've modified the main menu items' HTML to be much more complicated that it should be. That is, a nested table with one of the cells containing the actual UL of the menu. Your issue is very similar it seems to another user's at the moment: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36790

Like my reply in that thread, about the only way is to revert back to the original structure of the menu as far as the main menu items are concerned- a menu made up entirely of UL followed by LI elements for each of the menu items.