PDA

View Full Version : Ajax refresh problem

shawnperkins
09-21-2008, 09:30 PM
1) Script Title: Ajax XML Ticker (txt file source)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/ajaxticker.htm

3) Describe problem:

Hello Folks,

I'm a newbie to Ajax, and just have a quick question. I'm using the Ajax XML Ticker above and it works great. However I would like to have the script go and fetch an update of the XML file at a given interval, say every five seconds and refresh the display with the new data. I have tried everything that I can think of, but cannot seem to get this to work.
It would appear that I need to call this.getXMLfile() every so often, but I have not been successful.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Shawn

ddadmin
09-22-2008, 04:54 AM
This is more of a feature request than problem. I may eventually add such an ability to the script; in the meantime, the best I can do is give you an idea of how to do this. Firstly, replace the original rotatemsg() function inside the script with the below instead:

ajax_ticker.prototype.rotatemsg=function(){
var instanceOfTicker=this
if (this.mouseoverBol==1) //if mouse is currently over ticker, do nothing (pause it)
this.pausetimer=setTimeout(function(){instanceOfTicker.rotatemsg()}, 100)
else{ //else, construct item, show and rotate it!
this.fadetransition("reset") //FADE EFFECT- RESET OPACITY
this.contentdiv.innerHTML=this.messages[this.pointer]
this.fadetimer1=setInterval(function(){instanceOfTicker.fadetransition('up', 'fadetimer1')}, 100) //FADE EFFECT- PLAY IT
this.pointer=(this.pointer<this.messages.length-1)? this.pointer+1 : 0
this.rotatetimer=setTimeout(function(){instanceOfTicker.rotatemsg()}, this.delay) //update container periodically
}
}

The parts in red are now, basically adding identifiers to the timers used by the function, to cancel them before refreshing the script. Then, for the script on your HTML page itself, you may have something like: