PDA

View Full Version : Manipulating the browser's AutoComplete?



Tohaki
09-15-2008, 01:08 PM
I would like to be able to manipulate the contents of the browser's AutoComplete "drop-menu". Is it possible to use JavaScript to add to it, delete from it, or both?

jscheuer1
09-15-2008, 04:01 PM
I don't think so, perhaps. There was a fellow who did extensive work along those lines in our submission section though:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?p=142297#post142297

The approach is a little different I think. Instead of adding and subtracting, I blieve he is substituting his own autoComplete feature for the native one in the browser.

Tohaki
09-16-2008, 07:25 AM
Thanks for the tip! That looks very interesting.