PDA

View Full Version : Cross-Browser Marquee 1



brachole
09-12-2008, 01:45 AM
I'm currently using the Marquee script on my site, the one that scrolls horizontally. I noticed that if I input over a certai namount of characters (approx. 150), the script does not work.

Is there a limit or workaround for this?

ddadmin
09-12-2008, 01:51 AM
Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

brachole
09-12-2008, 03:33 AM
Script: Cross Browser marquee
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/cmarquee.htm

I'm currently using the script on my site, the one that scrolls horizontally. I noticed that if I input over a certai namount of characters (approx. 150), the script does not work.

Is there a limit or workaround for this?

rangana
09-12-2008, 04:57 AM
Tested it and there's no error.

I believe that his has something to do with your text. You should check that you had escaped quotes as this would'nt work:


alert('I should have seen it's content'); // Error should alert


....wherein the fix is:


alert('I should have seen it\'s content'); // Should recieve an alert


You should also ensure that you don't have a new line in your strings.

For further reading
http://www.quirksmode.org/js/strings.html

Hope it helps.