PDA

View Full Version : DD Tab Menu--problem in IE



quartney
07-05-2005, 08:50 PM
Script: DD Tab Menu
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddtabmenu.htm

My page is working correctly in Firefox and Netscape, but not IE. I have put the words "lorem ipsum" in a div called "cecil" as the main body of the page where the text will go, but I am not able to see that phrase when I view the page in IE. When I remove the DD tab menu javascript and html, I see the phrase fine, which is why I suspect it's something to do with my DD tab menu! :confused:

http://www.cofc.edu/~reu

Any help is appreciated!

quartney
07-06-2005, 06:27 PM
Okay, I'm deconstructing my code. On the page:
http://www.cofc.edu/~reu/test2.html

I get this error:

Line 73, Char: 1
error: object required
code: 0

and here is the javascript on line 73:
document.getElementById(cid).style.display="block"

here is the block of javascript surrounding line 73:

function expandcontent(cid, aobject){
if (disabletablinks==1)
aobject.onclick=new Function("return false")
if (document.getElementById){
highlighttab(aobject)
if (turntosingle==0){
if (previoustab!="")
document.getElementById(previoustab).style.display="none"
document.getElementById(cid).style.display="block"
previoustab=cid
}
}
}

any idea on what's wrong with line 73?

Twey
07-06-2005, 06:40 PM
Nothing's wrong with line 73.

function expandcontent(cid, aobject){ }
Somewhere, you're calling expandcontent() with a first parameter that doesn't exist.

quartney
07-06-2005, 09:28 PM
Okay, I've got the error figured out.

Another question, same script:

I have the text change color on the tabs when the mouse is over the tab. How can I get the initial tab to also have the different text color when the page loads (because that tab is highlighted) in IE? (It works in firefox).

http://www.cofc.edu/~reu