PDA

View Full Version : Is This Illegal?

TheBigT
07-03-2005, 11:29 PM
I have pictures that I have taken and content that I have made on my websites... if someone has taken the exact same stuff and put it on their website is that illegal even if I did not get an official copyright. Also if they saved my pictures and then put it up on a different page is that illegal? These are pictures of me and my friends.

mwinter
07-04-2005, 02:02 AM
I am not a lawyer. I just wanted to say that up front, so if you consider doing anything, I recommend that you seek advice from a copyright lawyer first. I will give you my understanding of the relevant laws, but they aren't simple, particularly when it comes to some aspects of interpretation.

Basically, I could be wrong.

I have pictures that I have taken and content that I have made on my websitesThere are several conventions that protect the rights of creators, though most are limited to certain types of work. As far as I am aware, the Berne Convention, the Universal Copyright Convention, and the Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of International Property Rights (TRIPs - maybe) can all apply here, and are all multilateral agreements.

The Berne Convention typically offers the most protection as it doesn't require you to mark work with a formal copyright notice. Simply publishing the material affords you protection as long as you can rightfully claim to be the author (and if they are photographs of you, that shouldn't be hard :D).

if someone has taken the exact same stuff and put it on their website is that illegalIf you haven't granted a license for them to do so, then yes it is.

even if I did not get an official copyright.If you live in any of the contracting nations (http://www.wipo.int/treaties/en/ShowResults.jsp?lang=en&treaty_id=15)[1], then you should already have it. Official registration should not be necessary.