PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Instances of rsspausescroller not working properly



Saberwing
08-25-2008, 11:14 AM
Hey guys. I'm having a bit of trouble with the rsspausescroller (and more specifically, in running multiple instances of it).

A link to view what I'm talking about: http://scratch.mqseries.net/phpBB2/index.php

The first RSS feed seems to load fine, but the second one always gets stuck on 'Initializing RSS scroller...'

The code that I'm using (including the HTML tables to display them as they are) is as follows:


<table width="100%" border="0">
<tr>
<td width="50%">

<script type="text/javascript" src="rsspausescroller.js">

/***********************************************
* RSS Pausing Scroller- Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsspausescroller/ for source code and documentation
***********************************************/

</script>

<span class="news">RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support</span>

<script type="text/javascript">

//new rsspausescroller(RSS_id, divId, divClass, delay, linktarget, optionalswitch)
//1) RSS_id: "Array key of RSS feed in scrollerbridge.php script"
//2) divId: "ID of DIV to display ticker in. DIV is dynamically created"
//3) divClass: "Class name of this ticker, for styling purposes"
//4) delay: delay between message change, in milliseconds
//5) linktarget: Target of links inside RSS feed. Set to "" for current page.
//6) optionalswitch: "optional arbitrary" string to create additional logic for formatrssmessage() to use.
// By default, optionalswitch supports "date", or "date+description" to also show these parts of a RSS feed.

new rsspausescroller("ibm1", "pscroller1", "mainmenu2", 4500, "", "date")

</script></td>

<td width='50%'><span class="news">RSS Feed - Message Broker Support</span>

<script type="text/javascript">

new rsspausescroller("ibm2", "pscroller1", "mainmenu2", 4500, "", "date")

</script></td></tr></table>

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers.

ddadmin
08-25-2008, 04:34 PM
The 2nd parameter passed into new rsspausescroller() must be unique for each instance on your page. So in your case, you'd need to change:


new rsspausescroller("ibm2", "pscroller1", "mainmenu2", 4500, "", "date")

to something like:


new rsspausescroller("ibm2", "pscroller2", "mainmenu2", 4500, "", "date")

Saberwing
08-25-2008, 06:52 PM
Thanks a lot for your help--it sorted the issue!
Shahin

seromine
09-08-2008, 11:19 PM
Just want to verify that with the rsspausescroller script, you can have more than two instances.....

I am trying to get it to work on a library website I am working on.......

I have one instance of rsspause scroller on a homepage, and then I use two on a library branch page.....

I cant seem to get all three to work consistently, although I do have different instances of the 2nd parameter....pscroller1, pscroller2, and pscroller3

Right now cant send you a link, it is on a test site, but if you need to see it, I can probably make it happen....thanks for any help....