PDA

View Full Version : PHP instead of Iframe

Rohan72
08-16-2008, 01:31 AM
I'm working on a site with a css layout, but it still has an Iframe in it.
I would like to get rid of that Iframe.

I was thinking of changing it to a <DIV> and load the pages thru PHP.

Is that possible? if yes, how would i do that?

rangana
08-16-2008, 01:41 AM
iframe is an HTML tag. It's not PHP.

You might mean to use include() (http://us3.php.net/include/) instead (which is php).

Hope that helps.

Rohan72
08-16-2008, 02:07 AM
I'm just a beginner with php, but know my way around html and css.
now I would like to get rid of the last frames (iframes) on any site I am making.
Here is an example of what i am talking about.

<a href="site2.html" target="site">to site2</a>

<iframe src="site.html" name="site" width="585px" id="site" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowtransparency="true"></iframe>

I would like to throw out the Iframe and just use a Div instead, so its easier to maintain the layout of the page.
The way I'm thinking is that the Iframe is replaced with a Div and that the content of that Div (in this case site.html) is called upon by PHP.
Also the link (site2.html) would be be inserted into the Div by PHPand replace the first content.

Can anyone provide me with an example (based on my example) ?

TheJoshMan
08-16-2008, 02:11 AM
You could use AJAX to do just that...

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm

surfandsnow
01-10-2010, 12:58 AM
You could use AJAX to do just that...

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm

The problem I found with this Ajax script was that after calling my forum index script

/phpbb/index.php

it would would consider all phpbb's links as starting from the root folder, instead of the phpbb folder. Basically, all the links to directories would read..

./images/forumlogos/filename.jpg

instead of

./phpbb/images/forumlogos/filename.jpg

...Hope that makes sense.

Is there any way to correct this?

Thanks

djr33