PDA

View Full Version : Bulk Domain Availability Checker



jnscollier
08-14-2008, 04:44 PM
Hey all,
I found this code for a bulk domain availability checker....

http://www.namepros.com/code/280961-php-bulk-domain-availability-check.html

The problem is that when I upload it to my server it doesn't work because my Godaddy hosting does not allow for outgoing connections. I called them to change the settings and I'm set up on a shared hosting so they can't change them. They said the only way I can get the code to work is to switch to dedicated or virtual dedicated hosting.

I've seriously searched for a long time for a little app like this. I can even set it up to allow for 2000+ domain searches at a time. So, that brings me to my question:

Is there any way this code can be modified to work on my current shared hosting?

OR

Does anyone know of any other bulk domain availability scripts I can use?

Thanks in advance!

techno_race
08-14-2008, 05:09 PM
There's one at namecheap.com:
http://www.namecheap.com/myaccount/process/bulk.asp
If you don't want an account (or that's not enough at a time), I've uploaded it to my server (and enabled all the features).
Please be careful. I'm on a shared server, and that means LIMITED BANDWIDTH.
I'll remove it if you start sucking it up.
http://www.seangillen.com/PHPAJAXDomainCheck/

jnscollier
08-14-2008, 05:13 PM
Thanks for the reply...
I know there are sites out there with bulk domain checks but I wanted to put one on my own site. That's why I was looking for the script. Who do you use for hosting? I have Godaddy and it won't work on my shared hosting!

Are there any other scripts that would accomplish this without the "outgoing connections"?

techno_race
08-14-2008, 05:20 PM
I wanted to put one on my own site
...Why?

Who do you use for hosting?
HostNine (http://www.hostnine.com/).

Are there any other scripts that would accomplish this without the "outgoing connections"?
No, that's physically impossible. Unless you had a 1.5 TB database on your server that you would manually update every second...
It has to use the outgoing connections so it can ask the DNS whether the site was available.
Outgoing connections are just sending/receiving data to/from other sites.