PDA

View Full Version : UNSOLVED: Dynamically changing colors and resizing image

techno_race
08-14-2008, 03:32 AM
Well, here's my problem. I have a GIF image that has black and white.
I need to be able to use $_GET['black'] and $_GET['white'] (or something like that) to get two user-submitted hex triplets (with leading #).
Then replace all black in the image with $_GET['black'] and all white with $_GET['white'].
Then I have to resize the image to predefined (larger) dimensions using a bicubic method (as to create a gradient).
Finally, I have to send the finished image to the user as a GIF.
Then I have to repeat the process for multiple users (at once?).

I know I'll probably have to install some sort of image library, like ImageMagick or GD.
I don't know how to do this. I have very little experience with PHP, let alone PHP extensions.
Is there any way to do this on a remote server? If so, how? If not, now what?

james438
08-14-2008, 08:20 AM
Do you have GD or Imagemagik? What I mean is are you sure you do not have these? I have recently started learning about php's ability to process images. It is interesting and rather fun.

To see if you have GD try running this snippet of code:
<pre><?php
var_dump(gd_info());
?></pre>Other than that all I really know how to do thus far is use php to generate a high quality thumbnail that loads really fast without creating a new image file and use php to create a file that is a thumbnail version of an image which is also in really high quality depending on whether you want to create a new image file or just view what it would like to help decide the format of the file to be created.

Are you saying that $_GET['black'] could be any color depending on what the user submits?

techno_race
08-14-2008, 04:51 PM
It turns out I have GD...I think...