PDA

View Full Version : Multiple carousel viewers on page or load carousel viewer pages via ajax?

slowCode
08-11-2008, 03:02 AM
1) Script Title: Step Carousel Viewer

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/stepcarousel.htm

3) Describe problem:

I'm new to this, and have been searching for an answer on the forums to no avail. Is it possible to get multiple carousel viewers on the same page? I think that is what I need to do to accomplish my goal.

What I am trying to do is create a page that has several links on it. Each link would take you to a different carousel viewer with relevant images.

I have tried a couple different approaches with no luck. I tried to load a carousel viewer page (that worked on it's own) into a main page using ajax but the carousel viewer didn't work when I did that.

Since that didn't work, my thought is that maybe I need to just create multiple divs on the same page with a carousel viewer in each div. Then I could hide/show the div's when the links are clicked. Not sure if this is the best approach - and I am a bit concerned about performance - but I don't have any other ideas at this point.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

jscheuer1
08-12-2008, 02:44 PM
Though deprecated in strict HTML, iframe and target are still valid in transitional. This would seem to be a job for those. You can put an iframe on your top page and have the various carousels each on separate pages. Have the links href to these pages and target the iframe. Something like:

<iframe name="carousels" src="carousel_1.htm" frameborder=0 width=300 height=250 scrolling="auto"></iframe>

and:

<a href="carousel_2.htm" target="carousels">Second Carousel</a>

Set the width and height of the iframe to about the width and height of the carousels, a little larger. On the various carousel_X.htm pages, have only one carousel on each of them, and set the style:

body {
margin:0;
padding:0;
}