PDA

View Full Version : open new pop up

questions
08-09-2008, 02:32 AM
Is this older code still correct for a pop-up?
I have "resize=no" down but it's letting me resize it.

I'm not an expert. I copied this from somewhere long ago.

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function OpenBrWindow(theURL,winName,features, myWidth, myHeight, isCenter) { //v3.0
if(window.screen)if(isCenter)if(isCenter=="true"){
var myLeft = (screen.width-myWidth-50)/2;
var myTop = (screen.height-myHeight-50)/2;
features+=(features!='')?',':'';
features+=',left='+myLeft+',top='+myTop;
}
window.open(theURL,winName,features+((features!='')?',':'')+'width='+myWidth+',height='+myHeight);
}

//-->
</script>

<a href="#" onClick="OpenBrWindow('pop.html','','toolbar=no, location=no, status=no, menubar=no, scrollbars=yes, resizable=no','634','658','true');">Pop Up.</a>

THANKS.

jscheuer1
08-09-2008, 02:42 AM
The proper specification for a new window that cannot be resized is:

resizable=0

Or, just omit resizable from the specification. However, many browsers will no longer allow a new window that isn't resizable. It's an accessibility issue.

questions
08-09-2008, 02:46 AM
THANKS!

Does the rest of it look correct?
Should all the "no" be "0"?

mburt
08-09-2008, 02:49 AM
Should all the "no" be "0"?

The rest should be fine with "no".

questions
08-09-2008, 02:49 AM
And yes, you are right, I cannot control the resize, even with 0, it still let's you resize.

Thanks.

mburt
08-09-2008, 02:54 AM
Yeah I'm pretty sure Firefox doesn't let you control the "resize" attribute, but IE might. I'm not sure.

rangana
08-09-2008, 02:55 AM
I think this is a bug on FF3, can't test on FF2 if this problem is reproducible. Tested with a simple call and resizable seems to take no effect:

<a href="#" onclick='window.open("http://www.google.com/",
"mywin", "width=500,height=300,menubar=no,location=no,resizable=no,scrollbars=no,status=no");return false;'>Test</a>

mburt
08-09-2008, 02:56 AM