PDA

View Full Version : CSS Help for a true Beginner



michaelwhough
06-28-2005, 05:16 PM
I have absolutely no CSS experience and I downloaded a javascript/css menu from this site (Pop-it menu) for a website I am working on I am having some serious trouble. I have a main menu and I am attempting to make the rollover menu look like the main menu, but I keep getting a red border around the top button and the other buttons are spaced funky as well as it won't seem to take the background color I need. I put a .zip file of my problem on my website, www.mikehough.com/website.zip, if anyone could take a look at it for me I would be eternally grateful. This seems like an easy problem to fix. The html file is Copy of internalnew.htm and the button that calls the action is "Finzer Difference." Thanks in advance to anyone willing to take a look...

michaelwhough
06-28-2005, 05:29 PM
one more thing the reddish box that i was concerned about actually only comes when the button has been clicked so how do i get rid of that and get rid of the spacing, thanks in advance again...

charlesbucket
06-28-2005, 11:04 PM
Hey Michael,

I've also had trouble finding a good css that removes the borders in Firefox. As taboo as it may seem I fix this issue using the html code.

To fix your problem add border="0" to the <a> tags in the linksets.

linkset[0]='<a href="http://dynamicdrive.com"><img src="flextech.jpg" width="190" height="21" border="0"></a>'
linkset[0]+='<a href="http://www.codingforums.com"><img src="metaltech.jpg" width="190" height="21" border="0"></a>'
linkset[0]+='<a href="http://www.cssdrive.com"><img src="xxtech.jpg" width="190" height="21" border="0"></a>'

Good luck!

mwinter
06-28-2005, 11:16 PM
I've also had trouble finding a good css that removes the borders in Firefox.So, you didn't try:


#popitmenu a img {
border-style: none;
}then?

Mike

charlesbucket
06-28-2005, 11:21 PM
No. I've always tried using
border: none;
(which obviously never worked)

Thanks for letting me know about border-style.

mwinter
06-28-2005, 11:35 PM
No. I've always tried using
border: none;It will work either way. Perhaps your selector was wrong?

Mike

charlesbucket
06-28-2005, 11:49 PM
Oh, I see!

#popitmenu a img {
border-style: none;
}

The "img" is needed to show that it is an image source tag. I hadn't included that before. Thanks again, I'm learning a lot today!