PDA

View Full Version : Featured Content Slider v2.4 help



kenw232
07-24-2008, 06:48 PM
I have an issue with Featured Content Slider v2.4.

It works well but it would be great if I could get the content to slide in from the right like it did before (from the Feb 12th, 2008 version).

Now it has to fade or just appear. any idea how I can get back the older slide effect?

Script URL:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentslider.htm

Nile
07-24-2008, 09:14 PM
There different versions. One has a slide and one has a fade. I think you should use the original. Were you having any problems with that one? If you were we can help. :)

jscheuer1
07-24-2008, 09:33 PM
Actually, I think you want the glider:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentglider.htm

not the slider.

Nile
07-24-2008, 09:43 PM
@John,
Thats what I thought he was talking about, I didn't see that it was called a glider, not a slider. Tehehe. :)

kenw232
07-24-2008, 09:45 PM
yes, the glider is the old one I guess. It worked fine too its just I really like/need the "select specific slide" feature:
featuredcontentslider.htm?slider1=4

but I need it with the slide effect, not the fade effect.

any idea how to add the slide1=? feature to the old glider script?

Nile
07-24-2008, 09:51 PM
Where you have your js that looks something like this:


<script type="text/javascript">

featuredcontentglider.init({
gliderid: "canadaprovinces", //ID of main glider container
contentclass: "glidecontent", //Shared CSS class name of each glider content
togglerid: "p-select", //ID of toggler container
remotecontent: "", //Get gliding contents from external file on server? "filename" or "" to disable
selected: 0, //Default selected content index (0=1st)
persiststate: false, //Remember last content shown within browser session (true/false)?
speed: 500, //Glide animation duration (in milliseconds)
direction: "downup", //set direction of glide: "updown", "downup", "leftright", or "rightleft"
autorotate: true, //Auto rotate contents (true/false)?
autorotateconfig: [3000, 2] //if auto rotate enabled, set [milliseconds_btw_rotations, cycles_before_stopping]
})

</script>

Change it to this:


<script type="text/javascript">
var findnn = "glide=";
var im_urlnn = document.URL;
var find_mnn = im_url.search(find);
var full_unn = im_url.substr(find_m+find.length);

featuredcontentglider.init({
gliderid: "canadaprovinces", //ID of main glider container
contentclass: "glidecontent", //Shared CSS class name of each glider content
togglerid: "p-select", //ID of toggler container
remotecontent: "", //Get gliding contents from external file on server? "filename" or "" to disable
selected: full_unn, //Default selected content index (0=1st)
persiststate: false, //Remember last content shown within browser session (true/false)?
speed: 500, //Glide animation duration (in milliseconds)
direction: "downup", //set direction of glide: "updown", "downup", "leftright", or "rightleft"
autorotate: true, //Auto rotate contents (true/false)?
autorotateconfig: [3000, 2] //if auto rotate enabled, set [milliseconds_btw_rotations, cycles_before_stopping]
})

</script>


Then when you go to the page it'd be like:
page.html?glide=2;

kenw232
07-25-2008, 01:01 AM
for whatever reason this didn't work for me. but once I seen the selected: 0 option there in the featuredcontentglider.init I just used PHP to grab the glide= and output it there...

thanks for your help.