PDA

View Full Version : HVmenu problem in IE



chuckydub
07-23-2008, 10:37 AM
1) Script Title: HVmenu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/hvmenu/index.htm

3) Describe problem:
anytime i try to edit the exmplmenu_var.js file, the menu will no longer load in internet explorer. how can i fix this problem?

jscheuer1
07-23-2008, 10:45 AM
If this is a problem in IE and not in FF, you are probably leaving out or putting in punctuation that although technically invalid is error corrected in FF. If it messes up in all browsers, what you are doing is just wrong. But, either way, I cannot be certain what without seeing your page:

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

chuckydub
07-23-2008, 09:23 PM
take a look for yourself and let me know what you find:
http://www.coop15.com/menutest.html
http://www.coop15.com/menutest2.html

the second page uses the exmplmenu_var.js file with line 35 changed to make the menu horizontal, but does not show up in IE.

jscheuer1
07-24-2008, 04:37 AM
Both pages are fine in IE 6 and 7. Are you using a Mac?

chuckydub
07-24-2008, 10:38 PM
yeah i am on a mac

jscheuer1
07-25-2008, 02:06 AM
This script was never intended for use on a Mac. I know, the script rating is misleading because it doesn't differentiate among operating systems. I do not write or maintain the demo pages though. In fact, my involvement here is only as a contributor of scripts and as a forum participant. I have no direct control over the demo pages. I'm lucky if I can get changes made to the demo pages of scripts I've written, let alone to ones like HV where I'm not even a co-author.

That said, IE 5 Mac is a legacy browser that neither Apple nor MS supports any longer. In fact, it has been many years since anyone supported that browser.

Is there a particular reason why you need the script to work in IE Mac? Or are you just being nostalgic?

Or, have I missed the point? Are you running a more recent version of IE on your Mac, as is possible with the more modern Mac OS versions that can actually run Windows?

chuckydub
07-31-2008, 09:14 AM
first off, yes i supposed i am just being nostalgic. or at least just naive.
but i am still having issues with my menu working in IE. here is a link to the website i am trying to create: www.coop15.com/housetemplate2.html
it works well in safari and firefox, but the rollover feature of the menu will not work in IE. please help!