PDA

View Full Version : HV menu navigation bar help



cindyk
07-20-2008, 12:15 PM
1) Script Title: hv menu
5.411 version menu
2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/hvmenu.zip

3) Describe problem:
Cannot see navigation bar on website. Our nonprofit organization's webmaster died and I inherited the job of updating our website, but I only know basic html. I didn't know the site was edited using frontpage. I made the mistake of changing a variable in examplmenu_var.js and saving the code in our servers file saver. Long story short, their tech support had me download the file, edit in frontpage and upload. Still can't see it. I printed out the code and line by line checked each keystroke against the config file. Identical except I changed 2007 to 2008 in a menu_new Array bracket. Any suggestions, we desperately need our navigation bar back! Thank you.
Cindy K

jscheuer1
07-20-2008, 03:56 PM
This is a good reason to always keep backups. There may even be one. If your former webmaster was doing things by the book, he/she kept at least one local copy of all the work. I don't know how delicate that situation may or may not be, but you could try contacting his/her family and asking about the possibility of looking at the computer used to find it. Or having one of them look for you.

Any other solution from us would require giving us a link to the website and explaining which page(s) are supposed to have the menu on them. It may be a simple syntax or other easily correctable error we could see by examining the source code:

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

molendijk
07-20-2008, 07:17 PM
You may have accidentally changed the value for var NoOffFirstLineMenus. If that value is higher than the actual number of the menus (Menu1=new Array bla; Menu2=new Array bla), then the situation that you describe occurs.
===
Arie Molendijk.

cindyk
07-21-2008, 11:39 PM
Access to his computer is not possible anymore, our organizational president tried. There is a backup file, but using that didn't seem tp work either. If there is anything you can do I don't know how to thank you. Here's the website. Cindy
The main page(home.htm) is http://carbonwaters.org and all the link pages:
http://carbonwaters.org/AboutUs.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/ROAPage.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Wells.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Water.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Septics.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/RecyclePage.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Conservation.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/News.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/NewsOurArticles.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/NewsWateringWhole.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/NewsAboutCCGG.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/NewsPolyVera.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Local.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/TalkBack.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/WaterTestingOptions.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/WaterWellTestingProgram.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Kids.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Links.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Sponsors.htm
http://carbonwaters.org/Terms.htm

jscheuer1
07-22-2008, 09:03 AM
Your exmplmenu_var.js and menu_com.js files have been edited and saved without line breaks, thus rendering them unusable. They also had opening and closing <html> tags added to them. The menu_com.js file is just a standard file so you can start over with a fresh one. I have reconstructed as best as I can your exmplmenu_var.js file, and together with a fresh menu_com.js file the menu is working. I will attach both in an archive:

1921

cindyk
07-22-2008, 11:59 AM
Thank you John.
I downloaded the file, but got a runtime error when I tried to open it in frontpage. I sent the file to our organization's president. He knows more than I do about website building. Hopefully he can fix this now. Thank you so much for your help on our problem and all the help you give others on using scripts and forms.
Cindy

jscheuer1
07-22-2008, 02:28 PM
If he needs any help let me know. I have it working locally, so I know it can be done.

I was going to mention though that these files should be edited with NotePad or another text only editor. They should not be opened with Window's default js program, or in FP. When you upload them to the site, it should be done via ftp, or by using your host's online uploading interface.