PDA

View Full Version : JavaScript condition question

dukevn
07-17-2008, 08:32 PM
I am just a novice in javascript and programming, but I like programming a lot. I did not take any classes about programming, and all the basics I have for javascript come from google and... here at the forum. While it is not always the case, but most of the scripts here were written in such a, what to say, dense format (in my opinion) that it is really difficult, especially newbie like me, to follow and understand them. In order to understand any script, I usually have to reformat them in an easier format to read, for example:

statement1;
statement2;
if (conditions) {
statement3;
}
ie adding extra semicolon ";", brackets "{,}", tabs and spaces (I prefer tabs) and make all the lines as clear as possible so that I can follow them.

While I not only totally respect all people here with all their works and scripts but also learn a lot from reading their codes and from the forum, I wonder:

a) when and why we need semicolon ";", comma "," or even none? what should I normally put at the end of lines when coding? When I reformat the script, I always put (or replace if needed) semicolon in the end of each statement. Am I doing right or not?

b) is this the typical style of javascript scripts when people write them? when I read some other scripts (php, java, c etc...) I usually see the nicer format than formats of the scripts here.

Thanks,

D.

molendijk
07-17-2008, 08:45 PM
My guess is that you are primarily referring to javascript-conventions. If that's the case, here (http://www.w3schools.com/JS/js_intro.asp)'s a good (basic) tutorial.
===
Arie Molendijk

Twey
07-18-2008, 09:15 AM