PDA

View Full Version : Help with vertical slider



acweb
07-15-2008, 08:57 PM
Hello,

I am by no means a javascript expert. I do occasionally have to use it though to accomplish what I'm looking for. This would be one of those cases...

I used to have a horizontal sliding slide show of sorts on this website but wanted to switch things around and changed to a vertical one going down the right side of the page.

My issue is this... what is causing all the extra space at the bottom of the page and is there something I can change in the code to stop this from happening? I am assuming it's related to the number of images in the slide, since it wasn't happening until I added them all in.

If anyone can help me out with this, I'd very much appreciate it.

http://armourgates.com/

jscheuer1
07-16-2008, 04:45 AM
That script is obviously adapted from:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/leftrightslide.htm

and so:

Your page is in violation of Dynamic Drive's usage terms (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/notice.htm), which, among other things, state that the script credit must appear in the source code of the page(s) using the script. Please reinstate the notice first.

Just put in something like (I also fixed your opening script tag):


<script type="text/javascript">

/***********************************************
* Adapted from:
* Conveyor belt slideshow script- Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

var sliderwidth="109px";
var sliderheight="420px";
var slidespeed=1;
slidebgcolor="#FFFFFF";
var topbottomslide=new Array();
var topbottomslide2=new Array();
var finalslide='';


The answer to your question though is to increase the negative top for the span in the script:


document.write('<span id="temp" style="visibility:hidden;position:absolute;top:-90000px;left:-9000px">'+topbottomslide+'</span>');

acweb
07-16-2008, 05:25 PM
I did not know it was from that, as that is NOT where I got it from. So don't blame me for that, I was not the one to erase anything. I would be happy to add it though, as I never claimed to write the script in the first place.

Thanks for your answer on the question though.

jscheuer1
07-16-2008, 05:42 PM
I don't believe I ever blamed you for skipping the credit, just that it was obvious where the code came from and that it was missing the credit. Anyone comparing the two scripts can see that. I could have made that clearer, so I apologise if I hurt your feelings.

Thanks for reinstating the credit, and glad I could help out with your problem!