PDA

View Full Version : Centering menubar on All Levels Nav Menu



XtremeD63
07-15-2008, 03:43 PM
Script Title: All Levels Navigational Menu.

Script URL: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm

I'm trying to center the menubar. I have no URL for it because I'm trying to work it out on my local computer before uploading a faulty page.

jscheuer1
07-15-2008, 06:57 PM
Much would depend upon your DOCTYPE and layout. The very first demo on the demo page for this menu can be centered using (changes highlighted - from the default/ddlevelsmenu-bar.css file):


.mattblackmenu ul{
margin: 0 auto;
padding: 0;
font: bold 12px Verdana;
list-style-type: none;
border-bottom: 1px solid gray;
background: #414141;
overflow: hidden;
width: 360px;
}

If you need more help, put up your own demo page. It can just be a test page, and doesn't even have to work. Just take your best shot and give us a link to it.

XtremeD63
07-15-2008, 10:57 PM
Thank you very much for your help, John. It worked just as you stated it would. Here's a link to my very bare demo page. None of the links have been modified yet, though.

http://www.xtremed63.com/java/index.html

I noticed that the links aren't evenly spaced, even though the text spaces are the same. I think I can live with that. They'll be titled differently anyways.

The last thing I'm going to try is to make the title and the links both in a frame at the top. Right now, any page that opens from the links will open over this one, instead of below it. Fingers crossed. :confused:

Thank you again. Your help in this matter is needed and appreciated.

Douglas A

XtremeD63
07-16-2008, 04:54 AM
I have been trying all day now, and I can't get the All Level Navigational Menu ( http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm ) into the top frame without it getting all messed-up.

Has anyone had any luck using this script within a frame? Here's a link to the page, minus the top frame: http://www.xtremed63.com/java/index.html

I'd like to have that in a top frame, with subpages opening up below in the mainframe. That way, the top stays through all navigation. Can I do this with the script I'm using?

XtremeD63
07-22-2008, 01:10 PM
All Levels Navigational Menu

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm

Can any of you expert coders tell me if what I'm trying to do is a workable endeavor? I'm trying to get the script to work in the top frame of a page. I simply do not understand why I keep failing. :confused:

jscheuer1
07-22-2008, 02:46 PM
This menu is not intended for use with frames. There's a fellow around here (molendijk) that seems to really like working with frames though, and he came up with:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25009

for that sort of thing. Give it a shot.