PDA

View Full Version : Trying to make basic cms.



pngsigut
07-04-2008, 12:41 PM
I am attempting to create a simple very simple cms out of an already working html script. I am trying to create a web site that is going to be viewed mainly on a dial up connection and i want to give as little page load time as possible. Does anyone know a good walk through/tutorial that i could go by or give me any suggestions on how to possibly do this.

techietim
07-04-2008, 12:47 PM
The following is a great CMS tutorial for someone who's learning PHP.

http://www.php-mysql-tutorial.com/cms-php-mysql.php (http://www.php-mysql-tutorial.com/cms-php-mysql.php)

pngsigut
07-04-2008, 12:50 PM
thanks will take a look.

pngsigut
07-04-2008, 02:26 PM
thanks that was helpfull but it is not exactly what i am trying to do.
Let me attempt to explain, i am really only looking to have a page were information will load in say the main content field but only if the people chose a link. so say i have a link column and the rest of the page is the main field having a type of greeting, now when they click on the link it replaces the greeting with what ever the link page has in it.
so it does not have to load the whole page all over just the new information. i hope that makes sense.

mhodgson
07-04-2008, 02:40 PM
It sounds to me that you need to look at Javascript and DHTML to achieve what you want.

Here is an example using tabs
http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/script2/tabview.shtml

Essentially each 'page' you want is loaded into a seperate DIV when the page loads but remains hidden until clicking the link makes it visible and hides the others. This can hard coded into the page or be dynamic data pulled using php.

There are other variations you can use such as 'accordion' viewers. A search on this site, google or other Javascript sites should find something you like or can adapt.

Hope that helps.
Martin

pngsigut
07-07-2008, 04:11 PM
those both help but what i am trying to do is something like this.


if(empty($content)
$content=main.html;


if(empty($links)
$links=links.html;

and then have the links.html link to change the content.

pngsigut
07-07-2008, 07:21 PM
does anyone know about this.