PDA

View Full Version : Featured Content Slider v2.3



Crisis_X
07-03-2008, 08:13 AM
1) Script Title: Featured Content Slider v2.3

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentslider.htm

3) Describe problem:
(http://hbculive.net/main.php)
(http://hbculive.net/home.php?section=home)

I got everything working right, i just need to know how to position the C. Slider on the page. I tired putting it in a AP Div, but the slider would appear in the middle of the page and on top of everything. Can anyone help?:(

ddadmin
07-03-2008, 08:38 AM
Inside contentslider.css, try removing the lines in red:


.sliderwrapper{
position: relative; /*leave as is*/
overflow: hidden; /*leave as is*/
border: 10px solid navy;
border-bottom-width: 6px;
width: 400px; /*width of featured content slider*/
height: 250px;
left:383px;
top:14px;
z-index:1;
}

Not sure why you added those in the first place.

Crisis_X
07-03-2008, 02:43 PM
My bad, thats when i was just trying anything. I took that out, so the only thing left is the AP Div2 trying to position it. Can you give me anymore help?

ddadmin
07-03-2008, 07:35 PM
Doesn't removing those two lines in contentslider.css fix the issue for you? Doing this on a local copy of your page, the Content Slider no longer appears out of place.

Crisis_X
07-03-2008, 08:22 PM
it appears right on the http://hbculive.net/home.php?section=home page, but when you look at the public page (http://hbculive.net/main.php) the content slider is actually floating over the banner

ddadmin
07-04-2008, 07:25 AM
Well, looking at the CSS for that page, this is actually a problem with your page's CSS in general, namely:


#apDiv2 {
position:absolute;
left:390px;
top:14px;
width:450px;
height:260px;
z-index:2;
}

Perhaps you're trying to position this column to the right on the page using absolute positioning, but in general, that's not the best approach (as evident with your outcome). Try floating the column "right" instead:


#apDiv2 {
float: right;
width:450px;
height:260px;
z-index:2;
}

Not that I haven't fully tested this out in all browsers yet, which with CSS you need to do.

Crisis_X
07-04-2008, 02:03 PM
That did the trick! Its working in both IE and FireFox, so i think its good to go! Thanks alot!

(http://hbculive.net/main.php)