PDA

View Full Version : HV menu and IFRAME



andyc209
06-21-2005, 08:30 PM
Is it possible to target an I frame from a menu item in the HV menu? :confused:

jscheuer1
06-21-2005, 09:10 PM
Why not? Give the iframe a name and treat it like a frame, as far as targeting goes.

andyc209
06-21-2005, 10:07 PM
i know the principal should work but in the menu item code where do I specify the target. Tried :

Menu4_3=new Array("SUBMIT AN ENTRY","form.asp target=iframename","",0,20,140);

and it does not work?

jscheuer1
06-22-2005, 04:32 AM
You can use one of two methods depending upon what you want to have happen.

Method one ex:
Menu2_1_1=new Array("CNN","javascript:main.location.replace('http://www.cnn.com')","",0,20,150);With this method, when clicked, the link will display on the page that the menu is on in an iframe named main. It will not add to the history stack so, clicking the back button will take the user to whatever was the previous page on the stack before this link was clicked (same page it would have gone to if this link never was clicked).

Method two ex:
Menu2_1_3=new Array("MSNBC","javascript:main.location.href='http://www.msnbc.com'","",0);This will do the same thing as the above method except that it will add to the history stack. Hitting the back button after clicking this link will return the iframe called main to its previous contents.