PDA

View Full Version : editing javacript variable in file a through form in file b...?

methodicmadness
06-25-2008, 10:23 PM
ok there is probably an easier way to do this but because of the way i designed the site (didnt plan very well...i know), if this is possible, id love to know how its done.

basically i have a site where i have the same "frame" consisting of a menu, the header and footer and three tables on the right hand side stored in javascript files, which i call in the html.

the three tables on the right contain variables which set the values therein.

I was wondering if it was possible to create a html form which allowed me to edit those variables without having to access the server, and edit each individual js file everytime i wanted to update the tables...?

or would i just be better off using something else like php? (which i am not good with lol)

Jas
06-26-2008, 06:55 PM
If you are asking if JavaScript can make perminant changes to a file, the answer is no. You need to use PHP or a similar language.

Have a look at this PHP function: fwrite() (http://us.php.net/manual/en/function.fwrite.php)

josephhamilton1
06-27-2008, 03:29 AM
What you are asking is a basic tenant of javascript in general.

If you have a "global" variable in javascript it stays available until you refresh the page across all JS files.

Ex.

file1.js

var myglobalVar = 20;

file2.js

function showMyVar()
{
alert(myglobalVar);
}

Now if you call this function from your html file you will see that the number will be displayed. So by definition if you do not want to access the server then javascript is the perfect to maintain such a variable or set of variables.

Also, you don't even have to have multiple files. You can put all the code in one JS file or simply put it all in the head tag of the html file (Separate JS file is better though).

Any questions, please let me know.

methodicmadness
06-27-2008, 06:52 PM