PDA

View Full Version : .htaccess Generator complications

GirlyGeekMN
06-22-2008, 09:48 PM
1) Script Title: .htaccess Password Generator

2) Script URL (on DD): http://tools.dynamicdrive.com/password/

3) Describe problem:
It seems to me I've done everything right...but I'm very new at this, so be gentle with me...
I'm using FrontPage, and I generated the files step by step. I want it to block the WHOLE site, so I left Step 3 blank (is that my problem?). Then I created the files in Notepad, left them titled ".htaccess" and ".htpasswd" (no, there is no .txt after them, I checked). I placed them in the folder I want protected (which covers the whole site), but when I published the site, nothing happened. Ideas for what I did wrong?

jscheuer1
06-23-2008, 12:37 AM
Aside from any minor or major issues as regards following the directions is concerned - from what you say, I think you got at least the broad strokes right - FP (if that is the agent you are using to upload the files) will often alter files without informing you before uploading them. Also, none of this will work if your server isn't .htaccess capable and enabled for your domain. You can find out about that by reading your host's documentation, or by asking them.

GirlyGeekMN
06-23-2008, 01:26 AM
Hmm, I guess I just assumed it was accepted my host. It should be, but I'm e-mailing them to confirm that.
What do you mean by FP altering files without telling me?
Thanks, by the way :)

traq
06-23-2008, 02:15 AM
it means exactly that: FrontPage will rewrite your code when it includes something that Microsoft decided is written wrong, or that they just don't like.

after you save your work, re-check your code to make sure it hasn't changed. if you can't get FP to leave it alone, then copy the whole bit (in html view) and paste it into notepad and save your webpage that way.

jscheuer1
06-23-2008, 05:37 AM
What do you mean by FP altering files without telling me?