PDA

View Full Version : Advanced RSS Ticker (Ajax) - mine does & does not work - why?



PeterD
06-17-2008, 01:43 AM
1) Script Title: Advanced RSS Ticker (Ajax Invocation)

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsstickerajax/index.htm

3) Describe problem:

Hi,

I'm trying to work out why this RSS Ticker works on one site but not another.

Do I need certain features from the web host before it will work?

What could it be?

Here's where it works:
http://www.greenhammer.com.au

Here's where it doesn't work:
http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/

They work with pop-up windows from a menu bar near the top of the page - look for green coloured text - 2x ABC News (Australia); BBC News; CNN News.

The weather bulletins won't work just yet on the ...110mb... site (above) because I need to get specific code from weather.com - I'll do that later. The weather reports work fine on the .au site (above).

The required acknowledgments for the RSS Ticker from Dynamic Drive are on each page of the above sites.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks & best wishes, Peter D.

PeterD
06-17-2008, 02:29 AM
Hi again,

One more thing, for my ...110mb.. site, I have index.html at the same level as my (sub) domain, while all other pages and files, including the pages calling the RSS Ticker (and so the javaScript file, rssticker.js, and the folder (lastrss) with the php files for it, bridge.php and lastrss.php), are in a sub-folder (on that same (sub) domain).

Is this a problem? Or should it still work ok as far as this issue is concerned?

Many thanks for any help, PeterD.

ddadmin
06-17-2008, 04:19 AM
Your files seem to be uploaded correctly, or the script won't even run, versus the current message you see, which is something like:


"Error fetching remote RSS feed!
Sorry: It's not possible to reach RSS file http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline_uk_edition/front_page/rss.xml"

Looking at the pop up windows, most likely the problem is that 110mb simply has "allow_url_fopen = On" disabled for PHP. This needs to be enabled for the RSS scripts on DD that rely on the LastRSS library (try doing a search for this keyword on the forum for more discussions).

FYI a faster way to debug this script is to call the code:

http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/greenhammer/lastrss/bridge.php?id="feedid"

directly in your browser's URL bar, replacing "feedid" with the ID you assigned the feed you wish to retrieve inside bridge.php, for example:

http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/greenhammer/lastrss/bridge.php?id=ABC%20-%20Breaking%20News

PeterD
06-17-2008, 06:03 AM
Hi,

Thanks again for your advice.

110mb doesn't allow allow_url_fopen

They've suggested I use cURL instead.

Could this "rssticker" be adjusted ok - I think I would only need to change the lastRSS.php file.

If so, any links/guidance on cURL, and on how to make the changes.

Maybe another rss feeder could avoid this problem - and not use 'fopen'.

Many thanks for any links/guidance/info, Peter D.

ddadmin
06-17-2008, 08:59 AM
The alternative at this point would be to use gAjax RSS Ticker (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex18/gajaxrssticker.htm), which doesn't require any server side support actually. LastRSS only supports fopen() the last I checked, so the next time the script is updated, I'll be switching to another RSS parsing script.

PeterD
06-25-2008, 03:50 PM
Hi again,

I installed the gAjax RSS Ticker, and got it (my RSS news feeds) to work quite well - EXCEPT I can't get it to work on Inernet Explorer.

Site for this is:
http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/

(There may be a "cache problem" with the BBC News.)

I wouldn't mind so much, but my (potential) customers are not boffins, 99% of them will just use IE, and so mark my site down, because for them, using IE, my news service doesn't work.

No need to worry about my weather reports - I'll just get new code (and site approval) from weather.com, later.

Any ideas/tips/instructions/links please on how I could change/make the gAjax RSS Ticker suitable also for IE.

Thanks & best wishes, Peter D.

ddadmin
06-26-2008, 07:44 AM
I don't see the gAjax RSS script on that page actually (I see the credit notice, but not the actual script).

PeterD
06-26-2008, 03:06 PM
Hi,

Thanks for looking at my problem.

I've now included a menu bar on my pop-up windows for the RSS News Feeds - so now you can see my code.

Is this required? Or are my acknowledgements sufficient?

Each RSS news feed - 2x ABC (Australia), BBC, CNN - has been put onto a separate html page, and each is then opened into the pop-up window. The pop-up window is closed "onblur".

All my code is based on Example 3 for this gAjax RSS script - in particular the BBC example.

Again, I can get it work ok in FF and Mozilla - and I'm now going to try it with Safari (Mac), and I'll report back - but I can't get it to work with IE (6).

Again 99.9% my (potential) customers will not be boffins and will be using IE.

Any help please, links/code/guidelines, on how to get it up and running for IE, would be much appreciated.

Thanks & best wishes, PeterD.

ddadmin
06-27-2008, 06:20 PM
Ah, you were confusing me with where to look to find the RSS Ticker. For future reference, it'd be a lot easier if you just provided a direct link to a problem page. I'll use the CNN ticker page in this case: http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/rssCNN_News.html Looking at that page, I see it does work in IE actually. Looking at its source, you have both the gAjax Ticker and the original Advanced RSS Ticker installed, though the former is commented out. In other words, it seems you're successfully running Advanced RSS Ticker already, the script you had trouble running due to your host's PHP configuration.

If you still need help, please clean up the CNN page so it just contains one script- the script you want to run first.

PeterD
06-28-2008, 08:17 AM
Hi,

Thanks again for looking at my problem.

(1)
I have isolated my use of the code for 'Advanced RSS Ticker' on:
http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/rssBBC_News.html

This doesn't work from this (free) site, I believe because it uses 'fopen' and because 110mb don't allow:
'allow_url_fopen'
in their PHP set up.

Advanced RSS Ticker works ok, however, from my (paid) site: (if necessary, right click to view source)
http://www.greenhammer.com.au/rssBBC_News.html

(2)
I have isolated my use of the code for 'gAjax RSS Ticker' on:
http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/rssCNN_News.html

This works fine from this (free) site.

(3)
So yes, (2) works ok in IE also - seems I needed to "allow sites" from 110mb.com and google.com using something like
IE>Tools>Internet Options>Security
...BUT

BUT I CAN'T GET (2) TO WORK USING SAFARI (MAC) - from free 110mb site.

Can you advise me on how to get it to work in Safari?

One thing about my Mac is that the clock has the original date of about 1970, because the battery is flat. Could this be the problem?

I will try to access my (free) 110mb site from a Mac with good battery. Can you try out my free 110mb site on such a Mac, i.e. one with a good battery?

I believe my paid site works ok with my Mac - I'll double check this, and report back.

Thanks again, & best wishes, PeterD.
PS
Just some info about my rss for weather: yes some problems on free 110mn site, yes fine on my paid site - but I've emailed weather.com about that (again this PS is just info).

PeterD
06-28-2008, 08:18 AM
Hi,

Thanks again for looking at my problem.

(1)
I have isolated my use of the code for 'Advanced RSS Ticker' on:
http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/rssBBC_News.html

This doesn't work from this (free) site, I believe because it uses 'fopen' and because 110mb don't allow:
'allow_url_fopen'
in their PHP set up.

Advanced RSS Ticker works ok, however, from my (paid) site: (if necessary, right click to view source)
http://www.greenhammer.com.au/rssBBC_News.html

(2)
I have isolated my use of the code for 'gAjax RSS Ticker' on:
http://www.greenhammer.110mb.com/rssCNN_News.html

This works fine from this (free) site.

(3)
So yes, (2) works ok in IE also - seems I needed to "allow sites" from 110mb.com and google.com using something like
IE>Tools>Internet Options>Security
...BUT

BUT I CAN'T GET (2) TO WORK USING SAFARI (MAC) - from free 110mb site.

Can you advise me on how to get it to work in Safari?

One thing about my Mac is that the clock has the original date of about 1970, because the battery is flat. Could this be the problem?

I will try to access my (free) 110mb site from a Mac with good battery. Can you try out my free 110mb site on such a Mac, i.e. one with a good battery?

I believe my paid site works ok with my Mac - I'll double check this, and report back.

Thanks again, & best wishes, PeterD.
PS
Just some info about my rss for weather: yes some problems on free 110mn site, yes fine on my paid site - but I've emailed weather.com about that (again this PS is just info).