PDA

View Full Version : ajax div resize issue?

enzedbro
06-16-2008, 01:01 PM
Hi ,

I am a coding novice and have a 5 page site loading external pages with ajax into a div called dMiddle. When the page loads the css is not working and my footer is overlapping the content of dMiddle. Once I click a link it resizes to the correct size. I have my pageholder set to auto height and values for other divs but I assume it's the javascipt function causing the problem. Here is the code:

function fnReset(){ //this fnReset() call is found in the simpleAjax.js
document.getElementById('dTorso').style.height="auto";
document.getElementById('dLeft').style.height="auto";
document.getElementById('dMiddle').style.height="auto";
document.getElementById('dRight').style.height="auto";
var disMaxHt=Math.max(parseInt(document.getElementById('dTorso').scrollHeight),parseInt(document.getElem entById('dLeft').scrollHeight),parseInt(document.getElementById('dMiddle').scrollHeight),parseInt(do cument.getElementById('dRight').scrollHeight));
document.getElementById('dTorso').style.height=disMaxHt + "px";
document.getElementById('dLeft').style.height="100%";
document.getElementById('dMiddle').style.height="100%";
document.getElementById('dRight').style.height="100%";
}

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! :confused::confused::confused:

jscheuer1
06-16-2008, 04:48 PM
A better solution would be to redesign the page so that its layout is not dependant upon javascript. However, if in fact this routine from your post makes things right when run from the AJAX script, you could add it to your onload events and it might then take care of things onload as well.

If you have no other onload event(s), you could just add one to your existing body tag, ex:

<body onload="fnReset();">

Now, without seeing the page I can't be sure of everything you have going on there, so there could be other issues.

enzedbro
06-17-2008, 05:35 AM