PDA

View Full Version : Problem with script showing in IE7



NigBrun
05-27-2008, 04:37 PM
1) Script Title: Conveyor Belt slideshow script

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/leftrightslide.htm

3) Describe problem: Wheras this script works fine in FireFox it does NOT work in IE7

I have used it on the page: http://knowle-village.org/index.html and it displays fine in the top right corner within FF but just produces an "Error on Page" within IE

Have I done something really stupid or what?

Can you help please?

jscheuer1
05-27-2008, 04:56 PM
Your page is in violation of Dynamic Drive's usage terms (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/notice.htm), which, among other things, state that the script credit must appear in the source code of the page(s) using the script. Please reinstate the notice first.

Here:


leftrightslide[0]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Comment.html"><img src="vote_now.png" border=0></a>'

leftrightslide[1]='<img src="Chapel_1.jpg" '
leftrightslide[2]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Advertising.html"><img src="advertise_here.png" border=0></a>'

leftrightslide[3]='<img src="IMG_0495.jpg" '
leftrightslide[4]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Comment.html"><img src="vote_now.png" border=0></a>'
leftrightslide[5]='<img src="images bell tower.jpg" '
leftrightslide[6]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Advertising.html"><img src="advertise_here.png" border=0></a>'
leftrightslide[7]='<img src="images new house.jpg" '
leftrightslide[8]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Advertising.html"><img src="advertise_here.png" border=0></a>'

leftrightslide[9]='<img src="IMG_1789.jpg" '


you have a number of entries which aren't valid tags. FF must be error correcting this for you, perhaps IE isn't. Fix them all up, like for example:


leftrightslide[1]='<img src="Chapel_1.jpg">'

That may well take care of the problem. But there could also be other issues.

NigBrun
05-27-2008, 05:09 PM
Thank You

Have re-instated text etc.

It works fine - thank you

shvemel
07-03-2008, 06:12 AM
Hi gurus.
Similar problem.

I got the annoying IE7 Warning "Done, but with errors on page".

This tool is really cool and wish to have it done properly.
Check it out here www.thehomedecor.net/

Also is there possible to add alt="" or title="" for the images? I tried with no success.

Advanced thanks.

rangana
07-03-2008, 06:27 AM
It's caused by this part in your markup:


<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
document.onload = runSlideShow();
</script>


You don't have runSlideShow function (yet). Try to comment that part if it has no function (yet).

You can have alt and title attributes by adding the highglighted in the code:


//Specify the slider's images
var leftrightslide=new Array()
var finalslide=''
leftrightslide[0]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook1.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
leftrightslide[1]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook2.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
leftrightslide[2]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook3.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
leftrightslide[3]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook4.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
leftrightslide[4]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook5.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'


Hope it helps.

jscheuer1
07-03-2008, 06:43 AM
It's caused by this part in your markup:


<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
document.onload = runSlideShow();
</script>

You don't have runSlideShow function (yet).

In fact, that will never work, regardless of where the function is defined, as it is improper syntax. Best to just remove the entire thing.

shvemel
07-03-2008, 06:54 AM
Thank you so much rangana and John! The warning disappeared by removing the extra thing.


Now, the alt works but displaying the first word only. I need to have a phrase in the alt of 2-3 keywords in it.

Thanks for the prompt response!

shvemel
07-03-2008, 06:59 AM
Ok the alt is also fine by adding the quotations.

really appreciate you help guys.

shvemel
09-18-2008, 06:59 PM
Hi guys, again I need your help.

We did some revisions on the main code for our site. Consequently the dynamic Drive script if affected by showing the first image on all slides, although different images are clearly specified.

Take a look at www.thehomedecor.net, scroll down in the source page.


ps, maybe this kind of problem is not related to this topic, but couldnt find meanwhile.

magicyte
09-18-2008, 07:17 PM
Not so sure 'bout this one, but I think that you must place semi-colons ( ; ) after each statement. Ex.

This is what you have:

slideshowspeed=12

Its proper syntax would be:

slideshowspeed=12;

Just saying that you SHOULD be putting semi-colons on the end of all of those statements, save the if,else if,else,do,while statements - or the function declarations, either.

-magicyte

jscheuer1
09-18-2008, 07:55 PM
Hi guys, again I need your help.

We did some revisions on the main code for our site. Consequently the dynamic Drive script if affected by showing the first image on all slides, although different images are clearly specified.

Take a look at www.thehomedecor.net, scroll down in the source page.


ps, maybe this kind of problem is not related to this topic, but couldnt find meanwhile.

Your revisions have set all images on the page to display block. This causes a line break after each one. They are all there, you just can't see the others because they are below the visible area of the slide show. Just to be on the safe side, add this style to one of your stylesheets:


nobr a, nobr img, nobr font {
display: inline!important;
}

shvemel
09-18-2008, 10:03 PM
Thanks John!!!!!

Your addition did it.
Wonderful guys, thanks a lot.

Joel

magicyte
I was afraid touching the code itself, glad of your help though.

shvemel
09-21-2008, 03:26 AM
Another issue I have with IE7, most probably its not directly related to Dynamic Drive.

However at the left pane where the categories are listed there are a few with triple pop-up menus that hides beneath the DD code. For example see this image (http://www.thehomedecor.net/under-pic.JPG).

Its fine in Firefox and Opera but not with IE7.

Any idea is greatly appreciated.

jscheuer1
09-21-2008, 09:00 AM
From your source code (addition highlighted):


<style media="all" type="text/css">@import "includes/eshop_style.css";</style>
<style media="all" type="text/css">@import "css/all.css";</style>
<!--[if IE 7]><link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="css/ie6.css" media="screen" /><![endif]-->
<style type="text/css">
.menu * {
position:relative;
z-index:1000;
}
</style>
</head>
<body style="background-color: #edc3ab">

Or you could probably just add the rule to your ie6.css file.

shvemel
09-21-2008, 04:09 PM
Again thanks a million John !!!!!

Truly a genius!

-Joel