PDA

View Full Version : Anyone knows a good disaster recovery tool?

andrew818
05-24-2008, 04:04 AM
Hi people, I have a computer that was working very well, but lately when I was working on a important project, there was a power fluctuation for a couple of times (I thought that was normal) but after the last power fluctuation my computer refused to boot up. There seems to be a failure of some kindů..but I need to get the projects back that are still in that disk.

I would be thankful if you could suggest any good tools to get the files and documents back.

djr33
05-24-2008, 04:17 AM
It really depends on what is fried.
I'd say take the harddrive out and try to put it in a new machine before risking that the actual data gets messed up while fixing it.

jscheuer1
05-25-2008, 07:26 AM
This looks promising (I have no experience with it):

http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk

However, one should be very careful. You don't want to make a bad situation worse. It may or may not be impossible to fix everything. But as long as you don't overwrite the data on disk, important files can be recovered as long as they are not already damaged beyond all recognition. If this is very important, seek out a professional data recovery service.

seekhelp
05-26-2008, 05:58 AM
Hi people, I have a computer that was working very well, but lately when I was working on a important project, there was a power fluctuation for a couple of times (I thought that was normal) but after the last power fluctuation my computer refused to boot up. There seems to be a failure of some kind…..but I need to get the projects back that are still in that disk.

I would be thankful if you could suggest any good tools to get the files and documents back.