PDA

View Full Version : DHTML Not showing on IE



lornen
04-27-2008, 05:14 PM
Hi, I had used the DHTML Window widget and it really is good! But I had encountered the following problems:

1) DHTML Window Widget

2) http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex8/dhtmlwindow/index.htm

3)

Specs

OS: Windows Server 2003 R2
IIS 7
ASP.NET 3.5


On the localhost, the popup windows works well for both IE and Firefox. However, when I deploy it in the www, the popup windows does not show its content on IE.
It works perfectly for the Firefox though.

The popup will appear, but its content is empty.


OnClientClick="hVis=dhtmlwindow.open('ajax', 'iframe', 'helpForm.aspx?id=0', 'Visibility List', 'width=450px,height=200px,resize=1,center=1'); return false"

The popup window is as:



<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" >
<head runat="server">
<title>Help Page</title>
<style type="text/css">
.PopUpControlDiv
{
overflow:auto;
}
.PopupDataList
{
width: 100%;
background-color: #FFFF66;
}
.style3
{
width: 118px;
}
.style4
{
font-weight: bold;
}
.ptr
{
text-align:left;
vertical-align:top;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<asp:DataList
ID="dl" runat="server" EnableViewState="false" CssClass="PopupDataList">
<ItemTemplate>
<table style="width:100%;" border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="1">
<tr class="ptr" style="border-style:solid;">
<td class="style4" colspan="2"><%#((System.Data.DataRowView)Container.DataItem)[5]%></td>
</tr>
<tr class="ptr">
<td class="style3">Purpose</td>
<td><%#((System.Data.DataRowView)Container.DataItem)[1]%></td>
</tr>
<tr class="ptr">
<td class="style3">How to fill in</td>
<td><%#((System.Data.DataRowView)Container.DataItem)[2]%></td>
</tr>
<tr class="ptr">
<td class="style3">Examples Remarks<br />(if any)</td>
<td><%#((System.Data.DataRowView)Container.DataItem)[3]%></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="style3">Keywords<br />(if any)</td>
<td><%#((System.Data.DataRowView)Container.DataItem)[4]%></td>
</tr>
</table>
</ItemTemplate>
</asp:DataList>
</form>
</body>
</html>

Any advice? Thanks very much in advance!

ddadmin
04-28-2008, 07:18 AM
Try changing:


helpForm.aspx?id=0

to a full URL instead, such as:


http://yoursite.com/helpForm.aspx?id=0

lornen
04-29-2008, 01:46 AM
Hi ya, thanks..I've also tried that already.

somehow its not working. :(
it's working on my development side, but not working on my deployment site.
On my deployment site, only FF works.

ddadmin
04-29-2008, 07:13 AM
Hmm without seeing a link to the problem page it's hard to guess what the problem is...

lornen
04-29-2008, 10:52 AM
I'm sorry I can't show the link, because the site is sort of password protected.
But the screenshot of the error is as below:

Screenshot of error - Content no loaded on IE7
http://a.imagehost.org/0229/web0.jpg
I might change from using iframe to div contents and hopes it helps? Don't really have the chance to get down to the deployment site to change and test.


Anyway, I have another weird problem. The DropDownBox of the webpage will block the popup window. This only occurs in IE 6. Any idea how to fix that?

Screenshot of error - combobox blocking on IE6
http://a.imagehost.org/0229/webpage.jpg

Really appreciate any help. Thanks

ddadmin
04-30-2008, 07:30 AM
Hmm the IFRAME mode is typically the most robust out of the loading options for DHTML window, so if anything, that mode should work if any is to. One possibility is that there are other scripts on the same page that is throwing a JavaScript error- in IE7, if one script fails, it will halt the execution of the others as well, which means DHTML window may be an unknowing casualty here. In IE7, you can turn on script debugging by going to:

Tools->Internet Options->Advanced, then UNCHECK both the "disable script debugging options", then CHECK the "display an error each time" checkboxes.

Regarding your other question, this is a well known issue in IE6. There are some discussions on this on the forums in the past I believe, but I'm not aware of a quick solution. One technique to fix it is called "IFRAME Shim (http://www.google.com/search?q=IFRAME+Shim&sourceid=navclient-ff&ie=UTF-8&rlz=1B3GGGL_enCA244CA244)".

lornen
05-02-2008, 10:04 AM
Hi ddadmin,

Thanks for your help so far.
I still can't get it to work under IE.
Is it because of the Juniper router the deployment site is using?
the dhtmlwindow.open(..) is encoded into the following

onclick="hVis=DanaMethodOpen('open',dhtmlwindow,'ajax', 'iframe', 'helpForm.aspx?id=0', 'Visibility List', 'width=450px,height=200px,resize=1,center=1'); return false;"

Does the Dhtmlwindow.open cater for the recoding of the url? I also don't know what can be done right now. Firefox has no problem opening the popup window thou, but IE still can't.

Thanks.

ddadmin
05-03-2008, 01:41 AM
Hmm without an actual demo it's very hard to know why it's behaving this way in IE. But just going by the very last code you posted above:


onclick="hVis=DanaMethodOpen('open',dhtmlwindow,'ajax', 'iframe', 'helpForm.aspx?id=0', 'Visibility List', 'width=450px,height=200px,resize=1,center=1'); return false;"

You should note that there's an error in the way you're calling dhtmlwindow.open() above, unless DanaMethodOpen() is actually a custom function that in turn calls dhtmlwindow.open() within it?

Again, a link to a problem page would be most helpful.

lornen
05-03-2008, 03:03 PM
Sorry man..I also don't really have the access to the page. Behind a VPN and has user access control. ;(

Yah, I am using the standard way to open the window, the dhtmlwindow.open method. But I suspect the that the juniper router recode all the links in the page. From the source of the actual site, it is re-coded from
dhtmlwindow.open to DanaMethodOpen.

The actual page link is from www.yoursite.com/helpForm.aspx re-codedto www.yoursite.com/,DanaInfo=.aTSI+helpForm.aspx.

As far to my limited knowledg of the hardware used, the Dana stuff is from the router.