PDA

View Full Version : AnyLink Drop Down Menu



Healistic
04-24-2008, 10:18 AM
Hi Newbee here requesting help.

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

I have no knowledge of html or script with computers, but I am getting away by building my sites using web easy professional7. But I have not got a clue how to insert the AnyLink Drop Down Menu. anyone any ideas. Tried web easy support but no joy.

Thank You

rangana
04-24-2008, 10:26 AM
This is the compiled version. Hope it keeps you going ;)


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<style type="text/css">

#dropmenudiv{
position:absolute;
border:1px solid black;
border-bottom-width: 0;
font:normal 12px Verdana;
line-height:18px;
z-index:100;
}

#dropmenudiv a{
width: 100%;
display: block;
text-indent: 3px;
border-bottom: 1px solid black;
padding: 1px 0;
text-decoration: none;
font-weight: bold;
}

#dropmenudiv a:hover{ /*hover background color*/
background-color: yellow;
}

</style>

<script type="text/javascript">

/***********************************************
* AnyLink Drop Down Menu- Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

//Contents for menu 1
var menu1=new Array()
menu1[0]='<a href="http://www.javascriptkit.com">JavaScript Kit</a>'
menu1[1]='<a href="http://www.freewarejava.com">Freewarejava.com</a>'
menu1[2]='<a href="http://codingforums.com">Coding Forums</a>'
menu1[3]='<a href="http://www.cssdrive.com">CSS Drive</a>'

//Contents for menu 2, and so on
var menu2=new Array()
menu2[0]='<a href="http://cnn.com">CNN</a>'
menu2[1]='<a href="http://msnbc.com">MSNBC</a>'
menu2[2]='<a href="http://news.bbc.co.uk">BBC News</a>'

var menuwidth='165px' //default menu width
var menubgcolor='lightyellow' //menu bgcolor
var disappeardelay=250 //menu disappear speed onMouseout (in miliseconds)
var hidemenu_onclick="yes" //hide menu when user clicks within menu?

/////No further editting needed

var ie4=document.all
var ns6=document.getElementById&&!document.all

if (ie4||ns6)
document.write('<div id="dropmenudiv" style="visibility:hidden;width:'+menuwidth+';background-color:'+menubgcolor+'" onMouseover="clearhidemenu()" onMouseout="dynamichide(event)"></div>')

function getposOffset(what, offsettype){
var totaloffset=(offsettype=="left")? what.offsetLeft : what.offsetTop;
var parentEl=what.offsetParent;
while (parentEl!=null){
totaloffset=(offsettype=="left")? totaloffset+parentEl.offsetLeft : totaloffset+parentEl.offsetTop;
parentEl=parentEl.offsetParent;
}
return totaloffset;
}


function showhide(obj, e, visible, hidden, menuwidth){
if (ie4||ns6)
dropmenuobj.style.left=dropmenuobj.style.top="-500px"
if (menuwidth!=""){
dropmenuobj.widthobj=dropmenuobj.style
dropmenuobj.widthobj.width=menuwidth
}
if (e.type=="click" && obj.visibility==hidden || e.type=="mouseover")
obj.visibility=visible
else if (e.type=="click")
obj.visibility=hidden
}

function iecompattest(){
return (document.compatMode && document.compatMode!="BackCompat")? document.documentElement : document.body
}

function clearbrowseredge(obj, whichedge){
var edgeoffset=0
if (whichedge=="rightedge"){
var windowedge=ie4 && !window.opera? iecompattest().scrollLeft+iecompattest().clientWidth-15 : window.pageXOffset+window.innerWidth-15
dropmenuobj.contentmeasure=dropmenuobj.offsetWidth
if (windowedge-dropmenuobj.x < dropmenuobj.contentmeasure)
edgeoffset=dropmenuobj.contentmeasure-obj.offsetWidth
}
else{
var topedge=ie4 && !window.opera? iecompattest().scrollTop : window.pageYOffset
var windowedge=ie4 && !window.opera? iecompattest().scrollTop+iecompattest().clientHeight-15 : window.pageYOffset+window.innerHeight-18
dropmenuobj.contentmeasure=dropmenuobj.offsetHeight
if (windowedge-dropmenuobj.y < dropmenuobj.contentmeasure){ //move up?
edgeoffset=dropmenuobj.contentmeasure+obj.offsetHeight
if ((dropmenuobj.y-topedge)<dropmenuobj.contentmeasure) //up no good either?
edgeoffset=dropmenuobj.y+obj.offsetHeight-topedge
}
}
return edgeoffset
}

function populatemenu(what){
if (ie4||ns6)
dropmenuobj.innerHTML=what.join("")
}


function dropdownmenu(obj, e, menucontents, menuwidth){
if (window.event) event.cancelBubble=true
else if (e.stopPropagation) e.stopPropagation()
clearhidemenu()
dropmenuobj=document.getElementById? document.getElementById("dropmenudiv") : dropmenudiv
populatemenu(menucontents)

if (ie4||ns6){
showhide(dropmenuobj.style, e, "visible", "hidden", menuwidth)
dropmenuobj.x=getposOffset(obj, "left")
dropmenuobj.y=getposOffset(obj, "top")
dropmenuobj.style.left=dropmenuobj.x-clearbrowseredge(obj, "rightedge")+"px"
dropmenuobj.style.top=dropmenuobj.y-clearbrowseredge(obj, "bottomedge")+obj.offsetHeight+"px"
}

return clickreturnvalue()
}

function clickreturnvalue(){
if (ie4||ns6) return false
else return true
}

function contains_ns6(a, b) {
while (b.parentNode)
if ((b = b.parentNode) == a)
return true;
return false;
}

function dynamichide(e){
if (ie4&&!dropmenuobj.contains(e.toElement))
delayhidemenu()
else if (ns6&&e.currentTarget!= e.relatedTarget&& !contains_ns6(e.currentTarget, e.relatedTarget))
delayhidemenu()
}

function hidemenu(e){
if (typeof dropmenuobj!="undefined"){
if (ie4||ns6)
dropmenuobj.style.visibility="hidden"
}
}

function delayhidemenu(){
if (ie4||ns6)
delayhide=setTimeout("hidemenu()",disappeardelay)
}

function clearhidemenu(){
if (typeof delayhide!="undefined")
clearTimeout(delayhide)
}

if (hidemenu_onclick=="yes")
document.onclick=hidemenu

</script>
</head>
<body>
<a href="default.htm" onClick="return clickreturnvalue()" onMouseover="dropdownmenu(this, event, menu1, '150px')" onMouseout="delayhidemenu()">Web Design</a> |

<a href="default2.htm" onClick="return dropdownmenu(this, event, menu2, '200px')" onMouseout="delayhidemenu()">News Sites</a> (onclick)
</body>
</html>

Scarey
05-09-2008, 10:18 AM
I am in the same position using web easy 6. Were you able to use Rangana's post successfully or have you found another way. Any help would be gratefully received as I cannot figure out how to do it with this programme.

Thanks

ddadmin
05-10-2008, 03:39 AM
It shouldn't matter what HTML editor you're using actually, as long as it allows you to insert outside code into its HTML without inadvertently changing anything. Which part of the script instructions (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm) are you having trouble with?