PDA

View Full Version : Anylink Dropdown menu on IE6, script conflicts?



padstow
03-31-2008, 11:16 PM
1) Script Title: AnyLink Drop Down Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem:
I'm trying to fnd a dropdown menu that works happily in IE6 - I seem to have no problems getting things working in FireFox and IE7, IE6 is the bane of my existence.

After trying Suckerfish, I'm now trying AnyLink Drop Downs - I see my menus as hoped in IE7 and Firefox (albeit there is a script error showing in my IE7 error, one problem at a time) - but neither my dropdown menus nor my slideshow script run on IE6 (slideshow script was fine before adding AnyLink).

Can anyone shed light on how I can fix this? I linked to the dropdown script in an external js file to shorten my page's code, would like to keep it that way. My editable lines of JS look like this:


var menu1=new Array()
menu1[0]='<a href="http://72.167.156.114/ee/index.php?/area/">Location</a>'
menu1[1]='<a href="#">Views Around Kinloch</a>'
menu1[2]='<a href="#">What&lsquo;s New</a>'


//Contents for menu 2, and so on
var menu2=new Array()
menu2[0]='<a href="#">Neighborhood Map</a>'
menu2[1]='<a href="#">Available Properties</a>'
menu2[2]='<a href="#">Current Listings</a>'

var menuwidth='115px' //default menu width
var menubgcolor='#FFFFF5' //menu bgcolor
var disappeardelay=250 //menu disappear speed onMouseout (in miliseconds)
var hidemenu_onclick="yes" //hide menu when user clicks within menu?

padstow
03-31-2008, 11:17 PM
Of course, forgot link:
http://72.167.156.114/ee/index.php?

padstow
04-01-2008, 12:06 AM
Quick note, I read the sticky about not complaining when two scripts don't work together on the same page, so I removed the slideshow-

The Anylink Dropdown menu still does not appear to work on IE6 (fine on IE7, Firefox).

rangana
04-01-2008, 06:08 AM
Try to change the way you call your external CSS ;)


<STYLE type="text/css">
@import url(http://72.167.156.114/ee/index.php?css=site/site_css.v.1207022570);
@import url(http://72.167.156.114/ee/index.php?css=site/site_css.v.1207022570);
</STYLE>


Or use the <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css".... :)

Let's start from this fix ;)

padstow
04-01-2008, 01:56 PM
Thanks for the reply! I tried changing the external stylesheet call, then just put the style for the dropdowns in the head section, still no luck on IE6. :(

SirPedroEC
04-02-2008, 05:36 AM
I'm having this same sort of problem...

Scripts:
AnyLink Drop Down Menu (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm)
Dynamic Ajax Content (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm)

Problem: When the "AnyLink Drop Down Menu" links are supposed to run the "Dynamic Ajax Content" both script completely die on me.

Code:
var menu1=new Array()
menu1[0]='<a href="javascript:ajaxpage('test.htm', 'contentarea');">LOAD CONTENT</a>'
menu1[1]='<a href="javascript:ajaxpage('test.htm', 'contentarea');">LOAD CONTENT</a>'
menu1[2]='<a href="javascript:ajaxpage('test.htm', 'contentarea');">LOAD CONTENT</a>'
menu1[3]='<a href="javascript:ajaxpage('test.htm', 'contentarea');">LOAD CONTENT</a>'


any input on why the script dies? or a re-write of both scripts put together. Is there any other way to call the content? I'm really stumped on this one! Please help! :) Thanks!