PDA

View Full Version : Popup image viewer - class questions

dorichcss
03-25-2008, 03:13 AM
1) Script Title:
CSS Popup Image Viewer

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/item/css-popup-image-viewer/

3) Describe problem:
Having only rudimentary knowledge of CSS I wondered why some of the class definition have more than one term before the brackets. For instance
".thumbnail span{..."
".thumbnail span img{..."
".thumbnail:hover span{..."

I understand the addition of the pseudo class ":hover" but why are the other terms used?
I did some searching around and couldn't find an explanation.

Hopefully someone could provide an explanation or point me to a location where I could find a description.

Thx

rangana
03-25-2008, 05:10 AM
I'm not good at explaining things, not unless you'll be satisfied :)

.thumbnail span

This means that an element having a class thumbnail, we will specify the element that has the span tag, and have some CSS declaration ;)

.thumbnail span img

This means that an element having a class thumbnail, we will specify the element that has the img tag inside the span tag, and have some CSS declaration.

dorichcss
03-25-2008, 03:07 PM
I'm not good at explaining things, not unless you'll be satisfied :)

This means that an element having a class thumbnail, we will specify the element that has the span tag, and have some CSS declaration ;)

This means that an element having a class thumbnail, we will specify the element that has the img tag inside the span tag, and have some CSS declaration.

Thanks for your response.

One additional question if I may:

Does this only apply to the "span" tag because of its unique nature or are there other tags that could be used this way. For instance could I write something like:
".someclassname h1{....}"
This is a nonsense example but I'm just trying to understand how wide spread this approach could be.

Thanks again, I appreciate the help.
RB

ddadmin
03-25-2008, 07:16 PM