PDA

View Full Version : What is Wrong?



C.L. Mareydt
03-13-2008, 11:34 PM
First of all ... thank you for the opportunity being able to use Dynamic Drive - the free help & different html, java etc ... have been a life saver for my net web building.

Second ... have a problem with formatting "Featured Content Slider" to fit
into my web page at: http://www.freewebs.com/awordfitlyspoken/11aaaatestpage.htm

I would like to see it place center top right underneath the drop down navagators ... so far it hasn't worked for me, no matter what I try to do.

Have had it working perfectly on its own page all by itself. But, trying to coordinate it into this web page is a trial. Can anyone give me some advise & help?

Really appreciate it!
C.L.

Nile
03-14-2008, 01:33 AM
I don't even see it...

rangana
03-14-2008, 01:43 AM
In IE7, your contentdiv, the one on left is at the bottom. :(
What is the pic you mean?..there is a js error in your page ;)

C.L. Mareydt
03-14-2008, 12:40 PM
Sorry - I don't understand what any of you are posting as a reply ...

:(

rangana
03-14-2008, 11:38 PM
Sorry for causing you trouble understanding our replies.
Where is the content slider you mentioned?..As what Nile said, We can't see any :)

What I replied in post#3 is that "Your page's content is at the bottom of the right navigation". As viewed in ie7.

Hope make sense ;)

C.L. Mareydt
03-15-2008, 02:58 PM
Thank you for our reply ...
I have solved part of my problem in coding, only to find another.
It seems the doctype effects the 'content slideshow'.

Here is what I have so far on a new test page:
http://www.freewebs.com/awordfitlyspoken/11AAAA.htm

Needless to say, I am missing the border around & border navigation around
the slideshow ... it should appear in a gray bordered box with content inside,
the bottom border border holds the '1,2,3,4,5, Next buttons'.

So far so good, if I can just get pass this glitch. Yes, I know some of my
coding is 'not professionally correct' but ... am learning & building myself. It has
been a great experience & learning curb. So any help is greatly appreaciated.

Thanks!
C.L.

Twey
03-15-2008, 03:40 PM
If the DOCTYPE effects it, just keep it and you'll be fine. Likewise, a learning curb doesn't seem too great an obstacle to overcome. :)
Yes, I know some of my
coding is 'not professionally correct'Oh, you'd be amazed at what some 'professionals' consider 'correct.' A very good aid to successful web development is using the validator (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.freewebs.com%2Fawordfitlyspoken%2F11AAAA.htm) as a check to make sure that your code adheres to standards (preferably HTML 4.01 Strict, the latest standard with reasonable support). However, a goodly number of sites do not pass even this (non-authoritative) test, instead using various browser hacks to work in the most popular browsers of the day, to the great irritation of users of lesser-used or future browsers.

C.L. Mareydt
03-15-2008, 05:10 PM
Well, once again it seems like I have stumbled thru to a reasonable
code ... looks good from my end ... which unfortunately doesn't mean
it looks good on someone else's browser.

One can only hope sometimes.

Is there a free browser checker on the web. That is my next 'google' search.

Would appreciate if you would let me know if it all 'appears' to look
like a reasonable site ... with the 'slideshow' in the top portion under the
drop down navigations ... and the article table underneath.

Here is the link now:
http://www.freewebs.com/awordfitlyspoken/11frontpage.htm

Thanks again. Appreciate your direction & support.
C.L.

zaphod42
03-15-2008, 05:21 PM
I don't know about a cross browser "checker" web site, but if you use firefox, google IE Tabs...it alows you toswitch the rendering engne in your tabs to display the page as ie would....as far as I can tell it works pretty well, I use it for most of my compatability tests rather than opening a new browser.